We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gator Park

Gator Park
24050 SW 8th Street, 1, Miami, FL 33187
800-559-2205
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #28 of 117 attractions in Miami
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a real tourist trap giving very poor service at hefty prices. We were in the craft on the water for 25 minutes only and for most of that time we were driven at high speed so were able to see no wildlife at all. We saw precisely 2 alligators asleep in the bushes as we started our journey and 2 babies halfway through the trip and that was it.

We were given a show for 10 mins of alligator wrestling. However the Guide also got out a scorpion and thought it was funny to taunt the audience with it, bringing the scorpion very close to members of the audience and laughing at our discomfort. I did not find this amusing.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    163
    108
    40
    34
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Short boat ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Was looking forward to the air boat ride but was disappointed on how short it was, saw a few gators the baby's were cool but expected to see more. Need better washrooms they were small and had long lineups. Had decent gift shop. Overall was average.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just your average tourist attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Reasonable cost for the airboat ride which was approx. 20 min ride. Just a tourist bus stop attraction. Not many wild critters were seen.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I was not overly amazed with the boat ride. We saw 2 big alligators and some baby alligators. The show was very cool. The picture with the alligator costs $3.00.
Joe

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Everglades Eco tour at Gator Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

You board the bus in Miami for a good hour long trip out into the Everglades. Very informative guide e.g. all Miami's water is conveyed to the city by the viaducts along side the road. The guide carries a book full of pictures of different birds and names them for you as you drive along. You arrive at Gator Park and board an air boat that takes you through the Everglades over land and water, where you stop quite often to observe gators, many different birds , and tortoises.
The driver answers any questions you have and takes plenty of time to let you see the wildlife. Back at Gator Park you take a seat in a covered outdoor arena where Gator Bob lets you handle a small gator and shows you how to jump on one if the need arises. The souvenir shop has heaps of interesting theme purchases plus the drinks and ice-creams.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gator Park also viewed

 

Been to Gator Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gator Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.