We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gator Park

Gator Park
24050 SW 8th Street, 1, Miami, FL 33194
800-559-2205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 283 things to do in Miami
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a real tourist trap giving very poor service at hefty prices. We were in the craft on the water for 25 minutes only and for most of that time we were driven at high speed so were able to see no wildlife at all. We saw precisely 2 alligators asleep in the bushes as we started our journey and 2 babies halfway through the trip and that was it.

We were given a show for 10 mins of alligator wrestling. However the Guide also got out a scorpion and thought it was funny to taunt the audience with it, bringing the scorpion very close to members of the audience and laughing at our discomfort. I did not find this amusing.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    254
    145
    51
    43
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pincher Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Short boat ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Was looking forward to the air boat ride but was disappointed on how short it was, saw a few gators the baby's were cool but expected to see more. Need better washrooms they were small and had long lineups. Had decent gift shop. Overall was average.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Just your average tourist attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Reasonable cost for the airboat ride which was approx. 20 min ride. Just a tourist bus stop attraction. Not many wild critters were seen.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I was not overly amazed with the boat ride. We saw 2 big alligators and some baby alligators. The show was very cool. The picture with the alligator costs $3.00.
Joe

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Everglades Eco tour at Gator Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

You board the bus in Miami for a good hour long trip out into the Everglades. Very informative guide e.g. all Miami's water is conveyed to the city by the viaducts along side the road. The guide carries a book full of pictures of different birds and names them for you as you drive along. You arrive at Gator Park and board an air boat that takes you through the Everglades over land and water, where you stop quite often to observe gators, many different birds , and tortoises.
The driver answers any questions you have and takes plenty of time to let you see the wildlife. Back at Gator Park you take a seat in a covered outdoor arena where Gator Bob lets you handle a small gator and shows you how to jump on one if the need arises. The souvenir shop has heaps of interesting theme purchases plus the drinks and ice-creams.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gator Park also viewed

 

Been to Gator Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gator Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.