We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for the family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gator Park

Gator Park
24050 SW 8th Street, 1, Miami, FL 33187
800-559-2205
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #28 of 117 attractions in Miami
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

With four adults and 5 kids we decided to pay a little more and opt for the private tour. The tour guide was funny as hell yet informative of the wildlife. He also went the extra mile to make sure the kids saw a few alligators. Worth checking out if you want to see the Everglades.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    164
    108
    40
    34
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good times in the Glades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I drove with my girlfriend from Miami to check this place out after hearing about it from the hotel. The drive was a bit longer than I expected but the airboat ride and the wildlife was well worth it. We probably saw 7 or 8 gators and had a great time doing it. Check out the alligator show after. Worth the 20 bucks for a few hours of fun!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Plenty of Gators, plus much more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We drove down from Miami to do the obligitory airboat & gator tour, but it was much better than expected!
It was $24 each (plus tax of course) and for that we got a 45 minute airboat tour, (our captain's name was Richard, a young guy who was very knowledgeable, really friendly & great fun.) We saw 5 or 6 big gators and also some tiny little baby gators - all wild in the glades - as well as native birdlife and fishes.
We also got a 'gator wrestling show', which, being a lover of animals I was a bit worried would be fairly exploitative and not particularly animal friendly. However I was happily proven absolutely wrong. The guide doing the show was great, really informative, very aware of the welfare of the gators & clued up about the animals needs and their habitat.
At the end of the show you could pay $3 to hold a 3ft gator for a picture, with all profits going to the care & protection of gators.
There was an obligitory tacky gift shop, and a little cafe too with cold drinks & ice creams.
We came for the airboat tours, which was really fun, and felt like we really got our money's worth with the rest of the stuff at the park. If you're going to do an airboat tour, I'd highly reccommend this one. Well worth a visit!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun and informative!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were picked up from our hotel (which was nice since we did not have a car) and then went to Gator Park. We had an airboat ride through the everglades with some great pics of a blue heron, momma and baby alligators, vultures and wildlife. This was followed up with a show. We loved the other animals - chickens, peacocks, ducks, cockatoo! It was a small park but it was just the right amount of time for our family.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, ca
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Gator Park is a small attraction. The major part of the experience is the airboat ride, which was incredibly fun. The guides are knowledgable entertainers who do a fantastic job. You are pretty much guaranteed to see several alligators and other wildlife on the ride.
The other part of the admission includes a small wildlife show which is pretty good.
There are a lot of discount coupons for the park and we would recommend using them -- with the coupons it was definitely worth the price.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gator Park also viewed

 

Been to Gator Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gator Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.