We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love history, come here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HistoryMiami

HistoryMiami
101 West Flagler Street, Miami, FL 33130 (Downtown)
305 375 1492
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: HistoryMiami is the premier cultural institution committed to gathering, organizing, preserving and celebrating Miami's history as the unique crossroads of the Americas.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“If you love history, come here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Both of us are big history lovers. We strolled around this museum for several hours on a hot afternoon. We visited in the museum shop for a while and even purcahsed a print for our home. My husband was disappointed on how little it had on Cubans and their impact and place in South Florida and in Miami in particular. I'd go back for some of their special exhibits but I htought it would have more to it. We still enjoyed it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great for history buffs but needs drastic update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went this past weekend on a "family fun day", and admission was waived. I recall many of the exhibits from my childhood when they were located at the Museum of Science. Sometime in the late 70's the collection was placed in its own museum, rightfully so. However, it doesn't seem like the museum has been updated since then. There is a special section for the "Miami Circle", which is relatively recent, but the display seems dated and flimsy. Most exhibits are in dire need of a facelift, bringing into the 21st century. The actual history of Miami probably comprises about 50% of the museum, the rest is about other places around Florida. As it is, the museum is mostly geared to children. If you have children, they might get a kick out of it, otherwise, do not expect to be thrilled by Miami's history.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I love Miami and I love South Florida history, but I was just lukewarm on this place. I wish it had more.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
617 reviews 617 reviews
303 attraction reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
1,403 helpful votes 1,403 helpful votes
“not worthwhile if u pay the ticket”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

we suggest to visit this musuem on the second saturday of the month 'cos it's free otherwise the ticket of 8 usd would be really too much for it.
the collection is poor and there is nothing really impressive.
i m sure that you could find many better ways to expalin and tell the history of this amazing city.
don't forget to visit it on the second saturday of each month.
;-)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Everything you Wanted to Know About Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This museum provided a real history of the Miami area with artifacts, pictures and narratives tracing the history and growth of Miami. It was interesting and along with the Miami Museum of Art next door provided a nice cultural afternoon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HistoryMiami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HistoryMiami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added HistoryMiami to your Saves list