We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ... Just good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gold Coast Railroad Museum

The Gold Coast Railroad Museum
12450 S.W. 152nd Street, Miami, FL 33177
+1 305-253-0063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 88 Attractions in Miami
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good ... Just good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We went the first Saturday of the month cause was free and was pet friendly, so we went with our pug and yorkie... The place it's small, have aprox. 20 trains cabins and like 2 train in function...

It's good for photoshoot or stuff like that...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lot of history in this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I went to the site without recommendation and found it very interesting, it has trains from different times in history, you can have access to most of them. In some of them you can feel like you are transported in time. I'm not a train lover and enjoyed the place. Unfortunately, the maintenance of the site could be improved. This attraction is mostly outdoors, if the day is too hot I will consider postpone the visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great even without kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Did not realize this museum was in my own backyard otherwise we would have been there much, much sooner. It was a pleasure to go through the president's train used by 4 presidents begin with Roosevelt. The train is registered as a national historic landmark. There was a separate fee for this tour (a couple of dollars only) and we learned it is because kids had vandalized the train when it was open without supervision before. What a shame! There were several other trains to explore. It was wonderful to imagine what travel was like in bygone eras. Right before we left a private party began arriving in 1940s attire. It really made us feel like we had just gone back in time. The museum is without a doubt underfunded but was still a joy to visit. Don't miss the lighter than air display about when the land was used for a Naval air station, truly fascinating.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“More support”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The museum have a few railroad cabins that keep the history...Two of these The US One (that was use for the presidents in the past) US army medical cabin. The most interest is representation of mini towns and replicas.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well done once again to the Gold Coast Railroad Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a thank you for a job well done once again to the Gold Coast Railroad Museum. This year was my third trip to their Day Out With Thomas event with my daughters and son. Each year they do a great job and it is by far the most affordable event as we also attended the other one near Tampa this year. We may only have one or two more years worth in us before the kids out grow it, but it is a big highlight to them. I know the Railroad Museum has done this event for a long time now and we recommend!!! Nancy, Boynton Beach Florida

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gold Coast Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gold Coast Railroad Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.