We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good viewing and facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calder Race Course

Calder Race Course
21001 Northwest 27th Ave, Miami, FL 33056
305-625-1311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 120 Attractions in Miami
Type: Horse Tracks
Attraction Details
east kilbride
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good viewing and facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Had read mixed reviews of the Race Course but decided to go during our visit to Hollywood. I liked the fact that the paddock was near the course and betting hall, so that i could see the horses in the paddock and then nip inside to place my bet before the off. Good viewing area, especially the home straight. Good fun afternoon and managed to pick 4 winners which made it even more enjoyable. Would definitely visit the course again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, Usa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place, lots of fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I thought this was a great place to visit. Its not as grandiose as Gulfstream Park or Churchill Downs but its a great clean place. The negative reviews I've read scared me off a bit but when I went I thought it was a wonderful clean place. They keep it well manicured and clean. They have great wings you can eat while you watch the race!! So go enjoy this laid back race track.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Calder race course needs overhaul”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have been going to Calder since it opened in 1971. Now the track is a racino. The casino looks nice and has all the slot machines anyone could want.
The race track is another story. The track is in deep need of repair and renovation.
The seats inside the track are all very uncomfortable.The track looks dingy. They obviously don't care about horse racing anymore. The casino appears to be the only thing important to the owners of this racecino.
The race track has all but eliminated ticket sellers and cashiers during their simulcasting at night.
The casino has a tiny room for betting. However, if you win, you have to trek all the way back into the track to cash in your ticket. Ridiculous! Talk about cheap. Add a do it yourself race track cashing machine.
Calder is close to my house. However, I will be taking a longer ride to Gulfstream or Mardi Gras until I hear Twin spires has spent some money to fix up the race track.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale Lakes, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You Can Horse Around Here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Calder Race Track is a great way to spend and afternoon enjoying the power and majesty of race horses. The excitment builds as the jockey's leave the paddock and circle around the gardens before entering the race track itself. What's great about Calder is that you can see the horses and jockey's, "up close." You can bet as little as you like, or nothing at all. Grand Stand entrance is free.

Come out and enjoy the thrill of a day at the races!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Improved, still not as nice as Gulfstream park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The racetrack is in Miami and has been improved in the last 10 years. It doesn't have the sophisticated appeal of Gulfstream Park, but it's a good place if you like horseracing.
The meet at Calder is of mid level, the facility is old but again, some improvements were made to make it more appealing to visitors.
It is a typical racetrack, you go for the horses, unlike Gulfstream Park were you can also follow the races from an outside bar, while your wife shops or window shops in the Village of Gulfstream.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calder Race Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calder Race Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.