We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved, still not as nice as Gulfstream park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Calder Race Course

Calder Race Course
21001 Northwest 27th Ave, Miami, FL 33056
305-625-1311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #202 of 278 things to do in Miami
Attraction details
Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Improved, still not as nice as Gulfstream park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The racetrack is in Miami and has been improved in the last 10 years. It doesn't have the sophisticated appeal of Gulfstream Park, but it's a good place if you like horseracing.
The meet at Calder is of mid level, the facility is old but again, some improvements were made to make it more appealing to visitors.
It is a typical racetrack, you go for the horses, unlike Gulfstream Park were you can also follow the races from an outside bar, while your wife shops or window shops in the Village of Gulfstream.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice place to play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Great buffet! I love that they post the average slot payout percentages; They are in line with the Vegas strip slots. Live racing and simulcast for anywhere in the country.This is a Churchill Downs track.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“great time bettting the horses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

spent an afternoon here and we had a wonderful time. the track is not too far from miami and drive was easy.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy horse racing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

You can't help but enjoy the beautiful horses and the thrill of the race.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“We Like the Horses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We enjoy the races. This track is well maintained and clean. Generally when we visit here, we dine in the Turf Club which is a nice diningroom looking onto the track. You can eat, bet, and have a good afternoon at the races.

There is plenty of free parking.

The food is good, but we would not go here for the food alone.

Calder also has gambling which we are not interested in.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calder Race Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calder Race Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.