We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Cheap" hotel right in the middle of downtown. Filthy.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Leamington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Leamington Hotel to your Saves list
Leamington Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   307 NE 1st Street, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 111 Hotels in Miami
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"Cheap" hotel right in the middle of downtown. Filthy.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The comfort of the bed was the only good point, together with the location (with a lot of amenities around), and the breakfast included. American Airlines Arena and Miami harbour are just a walk away. Rooms are very dirty though, amongst the worst seen in my life. Hygiene standards are really bad, specially in the room's bathroom. Couldn't even open the windows. Horrible.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    35
    47
    139
See reviews for
38
74
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am going to say something fair here. Leamington Hotel in Miami Downtown is not bad at all. I am sick of reviewers thrashing this place left right and center. Most reviewers seems forget the golden rule of booking a hotel: "you get what you pay for".
For US $90, you got a room in the centre of Miami Downtown, it is 5 minutes walk to the seaside, and the Bayside Market Place. The area is safe and central, with lots of eating places all around. The free metromover, connected to Metro Rail are only 3 minutes walk away. You are connected to Miami airport in 35 minutes, for merely US2.50. For other areas, a shuttle or taxi will set you back at least US 20.
The hotel , yes, is situated in an outdated building, badly need a renovation. Wifi only available free at the lobby, the breakfast is a simple fare of coffee and toast. Some of the staff attitude is bad at times , but the managers are really helpful, they will let you store your luggage after check out for a minimal fee if you ask nicely.
The carpet is old, the floorboard squeaky. The Air Con , though works, is noisy. The Hot water take long time to arrive, the bed sheets are not new, and the room is Spartan.
But for what I paid for, I feel leamington has offered me a comfy place to stay, and mind you, during my stay, the hotel is full, so there are many travelers favor this place as well and vote with their feet.
Those who dislike the shortcomings here are welcomed to stay in the Courtyard by Marriott, just 2 streets away, which is newer and more stylish, for US$189, and yes, you get what you paid for.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is good, just 3-minute walk from the Metro mover station. The servicing personnel are nice.

However, the room is stuffy. As a matter of fact, all windows are deadly locked and cannot be opened for fresh air. In one afternoon, all the electricity supply inside the room is out (for 2 times).

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Rooms were small but clean and with a locking door. Not suggested as a great family spot but great for friends who just need a place to crash. We met people from all over the world. Silat vibe to a youth hostel with more privacy. Staff was really nice. Parking was a hassle.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

This was the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in! Did not get any sleep with the monorail outside the window, rubbish trucks at all hours and general outside noise.
Along with this the bathroon was dirty, hair in bath. There was only a sheet on the bed, no duvet.
Only thing this place has going for it was that couod walk to bayside. But wouod def not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

Book somewhere else. Its not worth the worry. Very basic room, no aircon, just plain bed, sheets and 1 pillow each. Someone tried getting in to our room while we were asleep. Stayed for 1 night and booked somewhere else

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015 via mobile

Room was dirty, window shades were broken. Continental breakfast was bread that you could toast, and they warn out of bread by the time both of us got down to the lobby. Elevator fits about 3 people MAX, which is a problem on checkout when the entire hotel needs to use it. Had to use the stairs, which was fortunate because the elevator broke shortly after. Man behind the counter was hard to hear, I had to ask him to speak up 3 times to get him to talk above a whisper. He got an attitude with me each time I asked him to repeat himself after I politely told him that I could not hear him. Overall I was very dissatisfied with my service.

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leamington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leamington Hotel

Address: 307 NE 1st Street, Miami, FL 33132
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Leamington Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Leamington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leamington Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leamington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.