We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not horrible...but...ummm interesting.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Leamington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Leamington Hotel to your Saves list
Leamington Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   307 NE 1st Street, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not horrible...but...ummm interesting.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

A very interesting hotel. I read the reviews completely on here to know what to expect when I got there.
Lets just say...ONLY book this hotel if you have to.
People have already spoken about the elevator...it's literally pushed up by someone very old school...interesting to watch but closed at night time after midnight.

Pros:
All in all it was a clean hotel. The lobby was ok.
LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! Could walk straight to bayside...that was such a plus. Lots of paid parking places that were very close by.
Shower is actually a nice size

Cons:
The room was so basic...it reminded me of a dorm room. They could easily add some ikea products in those rooms.
Double beds were small and not comfortable
Window: you couldn't see through it
Bathroom: If you sit on the toilet...the sink was right in your face

All in all a VERRRRRRY basic hotel. However the price was awesome I literally paid $55 for a pre-cruise hotel. The did not nickel and dime me whatsoever. The price was exactly what they said it would be (unlike other hotels in Miami).

If your looking for a place to lay your head...this is for you. If you looking for ANYTHING more...stay away.

PS. The night I was there they shut the water off from 11pm-6am (pic included).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    14
    31
    34
    108
See reviews for
29
54
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel was chosen as one of cheapest in downtown of Miami. Location is excellent, close to park, metromover.
Room is very small, with old furniture, poor air condition, and you hear noice from street during night. The lift is not working in the night, you need use stairs.
There is just bed, and table in the room.
But one of the cheapest in Miami....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a very affordable hotel that has been fixed up and cleaned up to make it very acceptable to the traveller on a budget. Yes it is an old hotel and basic as it comes but it does feature a number of attributes. One is location - near Bayside Park and Enter. Ctr., Downtown, adjacent to hotels at 3 times the nightly rate and the MOM public transit. the 7-11 is around the corner for snacks. The shuttle to the Port of Miami or airport is included and convenient. I applaud efforts to regenerate downtown buildings in America and the owners have done just that. But the special feature to beat all is the manually operated elevator which comes right out of the 1920's. Anyone into the history of buildings, skyscrapers and the development of the elevator must experience this one of a kind and one of a handful of such elevators left in North America!

Room Tip: There are no rooms with a view - just the way the area has generated, in older premises the lower be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omoa, Honduras
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The two main points of this old Hotel are the elevator from mid 19th century and the location. The rooms are small , the windows do not open because they are so many times over painted and dirty. The rest of the room and bathroom where clean but I did not feel cozy. Elevator dose not work from 12 AM to 6 AM . Great Location everything you need for a overnight is close by. Doors and locks are not really save.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Manual elevator, really hot, rude or unhappy staff, bad stairs, smallest rooms ever, creepy atmosphere...and they asked why I wanted a refund?!? Are you kidding me? This place is the lowest of the low in downtown Miami. The only reason I would ever stay here is if my car was set on fire and I couldn't walk to a different hotel. This place is not even up to standards with what a brothel hotel could set for it's guests. Please don't even bring a woman to this hotel, it would make you look lower than scum. Needless to say, although I did not see any bed bugs, this hotel was nasty and disgusting and I left within 12 minutes flat. I still had to pay the 25 bucks for overnight parking down the block and freaked out in the morning when it was closed for the day (it was sunday morning). Please go a few minutes down the road to the Courtyard Marriott hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Slumlord run with no reinvestment back into this dump in 75 years. Should be condemned.

Would make a good set for Saw 5. We stayed here for the Miami boat show. Just across the street. Very depressing to discover that the oldest bar in Miami, Tobacco Road is being torn down, but creepy places like this stay? Ugh....won't be back! Never!

Room Tip: Bring 4 sticks. One to hold the door closed, one to scare off the bums outside, one to scrape the ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxton, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

For the price, Leamington Hotel is still a horrible choice! Unless you are desperate or single and don't mind the "boarding" house feel, STAY AWAY!! Location is right downtown by the cruise ship pier, which is good, if you don't mind staying in the ghetto!! I was terrified in this hotel. We paid for the night but only ended up staying for about 20 minutes. The elevator is terrifying, the beds are old, as are the rooms! Dirty and dangerous. I didn't feel safe here at all, especially with a child! USE CAUTION!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leamington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leamington Hotel

Address: 307 NE 1st Street, Miami, FL 33132
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Leamington Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leamington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leamington Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leamington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.