We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sketchy & Unsafe place to stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Leamington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Leamington Hotel to your Saves list
Leamington Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   307 NE 1st Street, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sketchy & Unsafe place to stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

REALLY..??? No security- poor check- in -, Bkfst. unacceptable- white bread to toast- dead cockroach in our room.... 2 Flimsy towels, I'm calling the Hotel Guy!!!!! We had to go out on the roof for Fire Escape- windows don't lock- anyone could walk into hotel.....

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ldschulz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is by far the WORST hotel I've ever seen in the USA. It's only one step up from a homeless shelter. The elevator didn't work and they gave me a room on the 4th floor. I have a bad hip and we had two suitcases and one carry on. We were only staying in the hotel for one night before going on a cruise. I thought well it's close to Bayside, this is the USA, how bad could it be? It was the WORST! It was like going to a third world country. As soon as we walked into the lobby I knew it was bad. People were doing their shopping and filling their barrels which were held in the storage area. It just got worse from there. The check-in staff didn't greet us. They said nothing. I had to say excuse me we have a reservation. I could go on and on. Do not stay here. The rooms are old, the rugs are dirty, the locks on the door are not secure. The one we had had a hand made peep hole near the lock. There are no washcloths, no shampoo, no conditioner, only one small bar of soap. Like I said, it's one step up from a Homeless Shelter, DON"T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I'm baffled at the people saying all the negative things about this hotel. Is it the classiest place? No, is it the most modern place? NO, is it the most high tech place NO! But you know this prior to checking in. Just like you are on Trip Advisor writing your review right now, you researched other hotels prior to booking this one. If you want all the luxury perks that the "other hotels" have to offer, you have every opportunity to do so prior to booking the Leamington Hotel. But NO, you decided to book the LEAST expensive hotel in the prime downtown location, which is around the corner and down the street from other hotels costing 3 and 4 times as much as this one.

This hotel is not for the honeymooners, the ritzy couple or the self proclaimed diva (make or female). This hotel is for the person who is on a budget, that need to be in the middle of downtown, close to bayside market place and all public transportation (not to mention the "C" bus is around the corner in front of bayside market place that will get you to south beach for only $2.35).

The rooms are as clean as can be, clean sheets, clean towels, strong water pressure. The elevator is a manual elevator requiring an operator in order to get to your room, again, the building is an antique, and so are the aminities.

I had a great time here and was able to walk everywhere I needed to be! If I needed chocolates on my pillows each night, and a Lobster delivered from room service, I would have chosen to stay someplace else. This hotel is perfect for the no frills traveler like me!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank clydejenkins33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Fab place to stay if you want to be close to Bay side shopping area and Port of Miami at an inexpensive price. For me lower prices mean lower expectations of things like decor,room size etc. so i wasn't expecting to arrive to a hotel like the Inter-Continental and therefore i wasn't disappointed. If your looking for a stay in luxury then its not for you, but if you are going to Miami to explore what the city has to offer rather than the hotel room and lobby and want to save on hotel budget to be able to enjoy the shopping/night life Miami has in abundance then book here as location is great (Walgreen's on the corner as well as pizza place and noodle bar) Bay side shopping area across the street with a great selection of places to eat e.g Hooters, Hard Rock Cafe, Steak house and countless others plus a free shuttle from the hotel to the port of Miami coupled with very pleasant and helpful staff and excellent transport links on metro-rail etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was looking for a hotel downtown and this one had the best location. The price was pretty high but there was nothing better available at the time around the Port of Miami. Leamington hotel is located just a couple of blocks away from the port and I think this is the only positive thing about it. I stayed there with my husband. We arrived late, around 11PM. The room was ready and we went to the elevator. To our surprise it was very beat up, dirty and the most shocking – it was operated by a person. It stopped working at midnight and you had to use the stairs. Unbelievable! Then we got inside the room. It was really small compared to all other rooms we stayed in the past. The two beds were tiny as well and we had to sleep separately. The bathroom was even worse with a lot of mold and strange smell. We just kept the door shut and didn’t go in there. Overall, it was a terrible experience and definitely not worth the money. I cannot recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I came to Miami to get on a cruise ship and had to spend a night in Miami. This was the most expensive hotel I ever stayed and also the one with the worst conditions. Very disappointed. Glad it was only one night. The room was small. The carpet had stains on it. I was with my wife but we had two very small beds. I think they were single beds because there was no way two people could fit on them. The bathroom was even worse. When I looked in there I was shocked to see mold on the walls and the tub. I only used the bathroom to wash my hands and did it carefully to make sure I don't touch anything. The only positive was the free shuttle to the Port of Miami the next morning. I was glad to get out of there. I would not recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: I don't think they have better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The rooms look nothing like they say they are on the internet. The room and shower had holes and mold everywhere. The room and the carpet had the "old carpet" smell. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE, ITS A JOKE. YOU WILL REGRET WASTING YOUR MONEY!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angel7867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#41 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,469 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#46 of 120 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 2,276 reviews
Rodeway inn Miami
#88 of 120 in Miami
2.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leamington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leamington Hotel

Address: 307 NE 1st Street, Miami, FL 33132
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Leamington Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Leamington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leamington Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing