We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bongos Cuban Cafe

Bongos Cuban Cafe
601 Biscayne Blvd, Miami, FL (Downtown)
786-777-2100
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 102 nightlife in Miami
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Dance Club/ Discos
Activities: Dancing, Dining
Attraction Details
Montreal, QC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I enjoyed my meal, so did everyone at our table. Tostones are really good. Beef was delicious! The place is big and nice. Its entertaining. You can play and take pictures with the bongos. I didnt go to the club but as far as the restaurant experience, I thought it was quite good. And the prices are reasonable. A place to try it when in Miami for sure!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    12
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Looking for Salsa, cuban style?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Look no further than Bongos, this place was a good escape from the Techno scene that was so prominent during the Ultra Music Festival. This place offers authentic cuban food and awesome dancing inside and on the outside floor. Those on the outside floor came to salsa dance, and if you're out there, so should you. Great music and dancers. Don't worry if you haven't danced or it's been a while. The clientele was super friendly and willing to take a chance.... if you are.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The worst dining experience ever. The service was beyond slow, and completely unapologetic. The food was edible, but barely. Even the drinks were bad! Don't waste your money, I'm highly disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicioso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Was walking around downtown Miami after landing and of course starving. I figured why in Miami, get Cuban food. Located Bongos and went in to see if it ws any good. It was quiet and kinda empty, which fine for a Sunday. I was kinda confused which was the entry because some of the doors was locked but one of the staff member helped me find the correct door. The waiter was quick to take our order. When the food came (I had fish bites) it wsa delish. The fish was fresh and with the lime it wassuperb...definitely would go back when I'm in Miami.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The club - not the restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Didn't go to the restaurant. Went on a Saturday night late (1 am) to the club. The live talent that night was "eh" but the DJ did play some good spanish music. I think we may have been the only married couple in the entire club - goes to show it's mainly 18-22 year old "horny kids" looking for fun. Yes they allow in 18year olds. Was fun to dance for about an hour then we left.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bongos Cuban Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bongos Cuban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bongos Cuban Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.