We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bongos Cuban Cafe

Bongos Cuban Cafe
601 Biscayne Blvd, Miami, FL (Downtown)
786-777-2100
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 277 things to do in Miami
Activities: Dancing, Dining
Attraction details
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The worst dining experience ever. The service was beyond slow, and completely unapologetic. The food was edible, but barely. Even the drinks were bad! Don't waste your money, I'm highly disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    13
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicioso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Was walking around downtown Miami after landing and of course starving. I figured why in Miami, get Cuban food. Located Bongos and went in to see if it ws any good. It was quiet and kinda empty, which fine for a Sunday. I was kinda confused which was the entry because some of the doors was locked but one of the staff member helped me find the correct door. The waiter was quick to take our order. When the food came (I had fish bites) it wsa delish. The fish was fresh and with the lime it wassuperb...definitely would go back when I'm in Miami.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The club - not the restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Didn't go to the restaurant. Went on a Saturday night late (1 am) to the club. The live talent that night was "eh" but the DJ did play some good spanish music. I think we may have been the only married couple in the entire club - goes to show it's mainly 18-22 year old "horny kids" looking for fun. Yes they allow in 18year olds. Was fun to dance for about an hour then we left.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Does Gloria Estafan really eat this?????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Bad. The place was not crowded at all, early on a weekend night, yet somehow our waiter could never be found. Half of the items on the menu were not available (someone needs to do a better job of ordering). What was available was cuban pot roast. Cuban pot roast evidently is a tough grayish slice of meat cooked two or three days ago and (most likely D grade beef) with a tomatopaste sauce poured on top and garnished with six peas. The plantains were- whatever. Why waste brain power to describe them? Bad Service. Bad old food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

The food was excellent. Great service. I loved the black beans and the tostones. My husband and I had great meals. For dessert we had the Tres Leches cake and it was fabulous. We returned from a Royal Caribbean Cruise and the food at Bongos was better than anything we had on the cruise. Loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bongos Cuban Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bongos Cuban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bongos Cuban Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.