We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHABBY Needs a Renovation and More Staffing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Children's Museum

Miami Children's Museum
980 MacArthur Causeway, Miami, FL 33132
305 373 5437
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #25 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Children's Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Miami Children’s Museum (MCM) is dedicated to enriching the lives of all children by fostering a love of learning and enabling children to realize their highest potential. We encourage visitors of all ages to play, learn, imagine and create. We are a non-profit educational institution that meets the needs of all children in our multicultural community. We offer interactive exhibits, programs, and learning materials related to arts, culture, community and communication. MCM’s Vision: It is our vision to be recognized as a premier institution serving children and their families while inspiring children to learn about themselves and the culturally diverse community we live in through the arts, literacy, and early childhood education.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“SHABBY Needs a Renovation and More Staffing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Museum offers a great many activities for children of different ages including several special programs taking place while we visited. It is clear that even at the relatively high cost of admission, the museum is struggling for funds. Several of the exhibits were not working properly. Others were in poor condition. Necessary pieces of many interactive exhibits were missing. With the exception of one staff person on the museum floor, the only other ones that I saw were attending to private birthday parties. Older children were running rapidly through the museum causing a potential hazard to others.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    105
    53
    25
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“OK for a spare few hours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

In the UK we are spoilt by superb museums with free entry. So paying for entry means expectations are high. For $60 for a family of four plus paid parking it isn't cheap and I'm not sure all in all it really provides good value.

I should say there were some really enjoyable moments for my children (who were the target audience) and my youngest really enjoyed the interactive nature of the exhibitions including many opportunities to dress up and play.

Felt charging an additional fee for the climbing wall on top of $60 was slightly mean.

We stayed for 2-3 hours and my children are two boys aged 4 and 11 years old.

It is obvious thought has gone into the design and the quality of exhibitions is good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This looked good on paper, but I wasn't sure the age it was going to be pitched at.
We were all pleasantly surprised!
There was lots to see and many of the activities we could do as a family, which we really love. It entertained 2 girls of 13 and 8. And my husband and I too! I guess they might not have learned a lot of new stuff, but we had fun together. A great end to our holiday. Not enough to fill a whole day but a nice 1/2 day trip.
Make sure you leave time for the bit with all the hands on challenges. We left it till last and spent lots of time there.
The girls thought it was really cool when they saw all the kids in uniform and realized that there was a school attached and wished we had something like that near us!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“kids love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

a lot to do a fun day and then we ate at subway which is right inside. Will come back again
very entertain and educative, can show kids how to brush teeth, how to shop and even how to spend your money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I visited the museum with my son and we expected all kind of interactive "activities". This was not the case, there are some nice things to see and to do but after one hour you have seen it. There must change a lot before will we come back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Miami Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Miami Children's Museum to your Saves list