We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Children's Museum

Miami Children's Museum
980 MacArthur Causeway, Miami, FL 33132
305 373 5437
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Miami Children's Museum like an insider
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #47 of 278 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Miami Children’s Museum (MCM) is dedicated to enriching the lives of all children by fostering a love of learning and enabling children to realize their highest potential. We encourage visitors of all ages to play, learn, imagine and create. We are a non-profit educational institution that meets the needs of all children in our multicultural community. We offer interactive exhibits, programs, and learning materials related to arts, culture, community and communication. MCM’s Vision: It is our vision to be recognized as a premier institution serving children and their families while inspiring children to learn about themselves and the culturally diverse community we live in through the arts, literacy, and early childhood education.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I visited the museum with my son and we expected all kind of interactive "activities". This was not the case, there are some nice things to see and to do but after one hour you have seen it. There must change a lot before will we come back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    131
    80
    34
    16
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great day out for kids of any age”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent a Friday morning at the Miami Children's Musuem with our children aged 5 and 4 and were impresssed by the size of the museum and variety of activities on offer. The Fire Truck, Supermarket and Remote Control Boats were all big hits with our kids. We went soon after opening and during US school term time and almost had the place to ourselves, which I'm sure made a difference to our experience. I had read complaints about parking, but $1 an hour for private parking right next to the museum seems pretty fair to me. All in all a great morning out for the kids, but they could have spent all day!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Save Your Money - Or Get a Coupon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It's not that MiChiMu doesn't have some very cool exhibits - steerable boats, fishing poles, moveable cranes, a mock mini grocery store, pretend doctors office with tools, music/noisemaker room, coloring/art center... it's just WAY overpriced for what you get.

Even when you spend several minutes at each exhibit, you can finish the whole place in under 2 hours - 2.5 if you play on the playground outside (which is not that much cooler than any of the free parks in the area - particularly southpointe park on nearby miami beach). When you consider that you're paying close to $20-$25 per person (children AND adults both pay)... it's just kinda low value. You'd think you might get included parking for that - but no, not really. We've gone for "special exhibits" like seuss or wizard of oz and been really disappointed... they often seem to just "revamp" an existing exhibit. For instance, they recently "debuted" pirate themes - that used the same boat structure in the small-kids room with some variations to the decor. We were not impressed.

Now - if you happen to have a coupon on admission (they're sometimes on Groupon), or if you have membership at other Miami attractions (zoo, museum of science, etc) you can get discounted admission and then it may be worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for kids for a price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Miami Children's Museum is great for kids and they do have areas designed for kids under two as well. Be prepared to shell out for parking (like everywhere else in Miami Beach) $1 per hour. And it's a little annoying that you have to pay ahead of time, estimating how long your kids will enjoy themselves before overtired meltdowns ensue, when any parent knows that it's virtually impossible to truly estimate to get your money's worth for parking. They do have the option to add time to your meter, though. The museum itself is very focused on industries and places endemic to Miami Beach, like the giant Carnival cruise ship, the sand castle, and Publix everywhere. Little ones will most likely be freaked out by the Dinosaur exhibit but I think everyone has a memory of going to a museum as a kid and being totally intrigued yet terrified by the giant ancient reptiles, so don't skip it. Also, they offer Miami resident discounts, museum member discounts (if you're a member to a partner museum like the Young At Art Museum), and military discounts. Also, no outside food or drink inside but if you don't want to pay for food at the Subway on site yet have a nice picnic an playground just outside the door. You can re-enter the museum with you receipt. Definitely a fun place for the kids!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravatai, RS
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excelent for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

That's a great option for kids from 2-14 years. Several thematic areas (supermarket, firefighters, hospital,...) where kids can play by their own. Entrance is not expensive, parking accesible on the area. Great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Miami Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.