We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids for a price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Children's Museum

Miami Children's Museum
980 MacArthur Causeway, Miami, FL 33132
305 373 5437
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #23 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Children's Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Miami Children’s Museum (MCM) is dedicated to enriching the lives of all children by fostering a love of learning and enabling children to realize their highest potential. We encourage visitors of all ages to play, learn, imagine and create. We are a non-profit educational institution that meets the needs of all children in our multicultural community. We offer interactive exhibits, programs, and learning materials related to arts, culture, community and communication. MCM’s Vision: It is our vision to be recognized as a premier institution serving children and their families while inspiring children to learn about themselves and the culturally diverse community we live in through the arts, literacy, and early childhood education.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for kids for a price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Miami Children's Museum is great for kids and they do have areas designed for kids under two as well. Be prepared to shell out for parking (like everywhere else in Miami Beach) $1 per hour. And it's a little annoying that you have to pay ahead of time, estimating how long your kids will enjoy themselves before overtired meltdowns ensue, when any parent knows that it's virtually impossible to truly estimate to get your money's worth for parking. They do have the option to add time to your meter, though. The museum itself is very focused on industries and places endemic to Miami Beach, like the giant Carnival cruise ship, the sand castle, and Publix everywhere. Little ones will most likely be freaked out by the Dinosaur exhibit but I think everyone has a memory of going to a museum as a kid and being totally intrigued yet terrified by the giant ancient reptiles, so don't skip it. Also, they offer Miami resident discounts, museum member discounts (if you're a member to a partner museum like the Young At Art Museum), and military discounts. Also, no outside food or drink inside but if you don't want to pay for food at the Subway on site yet have a nice picnic an playground just outside the door. You can re-enter the museum with you receipt. Definitely a fun place for the kids!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    107
    53
    26
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gravatai, RS
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excelent for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

That's a great option for kids from 2-14 years. Several thematic areas (supermarket, firefighters, hospital,...) where kids can play by their own. Entrance is not expensive, parking accesible on the area. Great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good visit once in a long while.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was the first place we visited this museum. First the bad: PARKING!! It just seems that Miami's planners have a serious problem with the concept of adequate parking (Just look at the Marlins' stadium parking mess) and this is the main reason why I would think twice, three times and more before going back to the Museum. Parking is a nightmare. It took us over 30 minutes driving around and enduring the occasional moron, an otherwise decent person who turns into an unkind driver when faced with frustration, until we finally found parking.

Fees are on the expensive side considering what is inside. Don't take me wrong, a child may enjoy the exhibits specially the dinosaurs but $36 for three people is steep all things considered.

Service was spotty. I called out security to ask about parking but the guy seemed to troubled by the sun to drive his bike and direct us. When we left the Museum about three hours later the guy was still under the same tree so perhaps he moved or perhaps not, who knows.....

Some details might be worth considering such as a sign indicating that an elevator is out or order? Some of us were waiting for the rear elevator until it finally dawned on us that the elevator was not working. Why not place a sign immediately?

If you a visitor with children then a visit to this Museum is worth considering but be warned about the traffic monster and be ready to test your patience. Local? I guess is about likes and dislikes. We liked the Museum for one visit. We just don't see a reason to return anytime soon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok space-but could use some revamping”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've been spoiled. We've seen incredible children's museums in places like Houston (surprisingly--the best so far) and Sausalito so we were a bit underwhelmed by this one. Yeah, we still became members and it's just ok. We don't visit much anymore. The kids have already become bored.

There is a total waste of space on one of the floors--that horrid cruise ship exhibit is so ridiculous. Down below from there is a teddy bear "diversity" exhibit. I hope they got revamped that or just gave up on that lame one. OMG--I laughed so hard when I saw that. As a person of color with an immigrant parent, I realized that this is why people from different backgrounds do not understand each other well--they are fed the idea this very dry idea of culture as static. Ugh. I wish they would ask some community input on these things before they spend a lot of money putting up the exhibit or do ongoing surveys of their visitors. Even on the most crowded days, I rarely saw people in that section-- so much for education efforts--one of their goals. There are some events that are not well run. We went out of our way to attend a Father's Day event--kids would make a birdhouse with the papas. When we arrived (on time), they had suddenly run out of bird houses. Sometimes some exhibits are broken and look tacky. In the instrument section- there are days we've gone and half the instruments are missing or broken.

I don't mean to be a total cranky pants about this space. There are other good things about it. I just wish they could push themselves to be a better children's museum--so much potential. There are some good events that happen there. There's a fun pretend area. Not quite like the one in the San Fran bay area where the focus on recycling and sustainable education was more prominent (I guess this also reflects the poor environmental practices in South Florida). But there's also a cute fishing boat where kids can catch plastic fish with magnets. My kids also like the art room (on days when they have good projects-sometimes they are not creative at all). I really would give this a 2.5-3 stars. Not really "poor" but more like, "eh-alright."

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiChildrensMuseum, Manager at Miami Children's Museum, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your response and your suggestions. The Museum's programming and exhibits staff make it a priority to ensure that our exhibits and activities are clean, organized and well equipped and we apologize that this was not the experience that you had. We appreciate your specific feedback as we are in the midst of finalizing a plan for upgrading and renovating our permanent exhibit spaces and themes. As we enter the tenth year in our building, it is a top priority to make sure these exhibits not only teach children and families about arts, culture and literacy based topics, but that they do so in innovative and creative ways to meet the needs of our growing community. Feedback like yours is an integral part of this process! We value our member families and your continued support and we welcome more specific suggestions should you wish to share them with us. Please do not hesitate to contact our Associate Director of Marketing at 305.373.5437 ext. 146.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a well done activity center for children. Even as an adult, you enjoy watching the kids have fun. Right across the canal from the port of Miami - if the cruise ship's are in you get an eye full. From there go across the highway to Jungle Island and you will have a relaxing day.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Miami Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.