We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok space-but could use some revamping” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Children's Museum

Miami Children's Museum
980 MacArthur Causeway, Miami, FL 33132
305 373 5437
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Miami Children's Museum like an insider
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #47 of 278 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Miami Children’s Museum (MCM) is dedicated to enriching the lives of all children by fostering a love of learning and enabling children to realize their highest potential. We encourage visitors of all ages to play, learn, imagine and create. We are a non-profit educational institution that meets the needs of all children in our multicultural community. We offer interactive exhibits, programs, and learning materials related to arts, culture, community and communication. MCM’s Vision: It is our vision to be recognized as a premier institution serving children and their families while inspiring children to learn about themselves and the culturally diverse community we live in through the arts, literacy, and early childhood education.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ok space-but could use some revamping”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've been spoiled. We've seen incredible children's museums in places like Houston (surprisingly--the best so far) and Sausalito so we were a bit underwhelmed by this one. Yeah, we still became members and it's just ok. We don't visit much anymore. The kids have already become bored.

There is a total waste of space on one of the floors--that horrid cruise ship exhibit is so ridiculous. Down below from there is a teddy bear "diversity" exhibit. I hope they got revamped that or just gave up on that lame one. OMG--I laughed so hard when I saw that. As a person of color with an immigrant parent, I realized that this is why people from different backgrounds do not understand each other well--they are fed the idea this very dry idea of culture as static. Ugh. I wish they would ask some community input on these things before they spend a lot of money putting up the exhibit or do ongoing surveys of their visitors. Even on the most crowded days, I rarely saw people in that section-- so much for education efforts--one of their goals. There are some events that are not well run. We went out of our way to attend a Father's Day event--kids would make a birdhouse with the papas. When we arrived (on time), they had suddenly run out of bird houses. Sometimes some exhibits are broken and look tacky. In the instrument section- there are days we've gone and half the instruments are missing or broken.

I don't mean to be a total cranky pants about this space. There are other good things about it. I just wish they could push themselves to be a better children's museum--so much potential. There are some good events that happen there. There's a fun pretend area. Not quite like the one in the San Fran bay area where the focus on recycling and sustainable education was more prominent (I guess this also reflects the poor environmental practices in South Florida). But there's also a cute fishing boat where kids can catch plastic fish with magnets. My kids also like the art room (on days when they have good projects-sometimes they are not creative at all). I really would give this a 2.5-3 stars. Not really "poor" but more like, "eh-alright."

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiChildrensMuseum, Manager at Miami Children's Museum, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your response and your suggestions. The Museum's programming and exhibits staff make it a priority to ensure that our exhibits and activities are clean, organized and well equipped and we apologize that this was not the experience that you had. We appreciate your specific feedback as we are in the midst of finalizing a plan for upgrading and renovating our permanent exhibit spaces and themes. As we enter the tenth year in our building, it is a top priority to make sure these exhibits not only teach children and families about arts, culture and literacy based topics, but that they do so in innovative and creative ways to meet the needs of our growing community. Feedback like yours is an integral part of this process! We value our member families and your continued support and we welcome more specific suggestions should you wish to share them with us. Please do not hesitate to contact our Associate Director of Marketing at 305.373.5437 ext. 146.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    131
    80
    34
    16
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a well done activity center for children. Even as an adult, you enjoy watching the kids have fun. Right across the canal from the port of Miami - if the cruise ship's are in you get an eye full. From there go across the highway to Jungle Island and you will have a relaxing day.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This museum is soo cute! THey host birthday parties as well. IT's a great place for kids, I wish it would've been available when I was that young.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“fab place for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

my two daughters loved this place, and we spent two or three hours in here while they went round each interactive part of the museum, my only negative is that it is a bit tiresome that non residents of florida have to pay more.. luckily the girl on the till gave us the locals rate!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Indoor Activity for the Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This museum is awesome! We bought an annual membership because it is so large and there is so much to explore! This place is perfect when it is rainy or too hot out... Kids can grocery shop, pretend to be firemen, brush huge teeth, do crafts, sing karaoke, and much more. We love this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Miami Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.