We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab place for kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Children's Museum

Miami Children's Museum
980 MacArthur Causeway, Miami, FL 33132
305 373 5437
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #30 of 123 Attractions in Miami
Type: Children's Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Miami Children’s Museum (MCM) is dedicated to enriching the lives of all children by fostering a love of learning and enabling children to realize their highest potential. We encourage visitors of all ages to play, learn, imagine and create. We are a non-profit educational institution that meets the needs of all children in our multicultural community. We offer interactive exhibits, programs, and learning materials related to arts, culture, community and communication. MCM’s Vision: It is our vision to be recognized as a premier institution serving children and their families while inspiring children to learn about themselves and the culturally diverse community we live in through the arts, literacy, and early childhood education.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
LONDON
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“fab place for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

my two daughters loved this place, and we spent two or three hours in here while they went round each interactive part of the museum, my only negative is that it is a bit tiresome that non residents of florida have to pay more.. luckily the girl on the till gave us the locals rate!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    114
    67
    29
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Indoor Activity for the Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This museum is awesome! We bought an annual membership because it is so large and there is so much to explore! This place is perfect when it is rainy or too hot out... Kids can grocery shop, pretend to be firemen, brush huge teeth, do crafts, sing karaoke, and much more. We love this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“As with all kids places, it's now been open long enough to be a dump.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Every kids place that has been open a certain period of time, turns into a run down dump. Kids are very hard on the exhibits and so many things are broken and don't function properly. I am sure they just don't have the money to fix anything.

Another problem they have is that everything is starting to get a little grungy. The place needs a serious steam cleaning.

The exhibits themselves are for the most part boring and pedestrian. My child was only interested in a couple of things like the vacuum tubes and the tugboats. Everything else was pretty lame.

Overall this place is not what it's supposed to be. They need a serious rethinking of the exhibits and general repair. Don't waste your money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiChildrensMuseum, Manager at Miami Children's Museum, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your visit was less than excellent. Our Educators, exhibits team and floor staff make it a top priority to ensure that our exhibits are clean and working properly throughout the day and we apologize that your experience did not reflect these efforts. We have taken great strides to offer exhibits that focus on topics centered around arts, culture, community and communication and that encourage children and families to learn together in an fun environment. As we enter our tenth year at our current location we have started the process of implementing a new master plan that will include new permanent exhibit spaces. We would love more feedback from you as to what areas you would like to see us improve upon. Please do not hesitate to contact our marketing department with any other suggestions at 305.373.5437 ext. 146.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must visit while in Miami if you have children!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great day to spend with your children. lots of interactive activities with great fun and learning! This children's museum is great for children under 12. My children grew up visiting this museum since it's inception. My son's first visit was when he was 8 months old when it was located at the Bakery Center now known as Sunset Place. He is now 23 and I have seen both my son and the museum grow so much! Love this place!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“For Rainy Days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

There are not many attraction for toddlers, and some areas look a little old. But overall is a great place to go with the kids on a rainy day. I love the artist studio.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Miami Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.