We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Children's Museum

Miami Children's Museum
980 MacArthur Causeway, Miami, FL 33132
305 373 5437
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #25 of 119 Attractions in Miami
Type: Children's Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Miami Children’s Museum (MCM) is dedicated to enriching the lives of all children by fostering a love of learning and enabling children to realize their highest potential. We encourage visitors of all ages to play, learn, imagine and create. We are a non-profit educational institution that meets the needs of all children in our multicultural community. We offer interactive exhibits, programs, and learning materials related to arts, culture, community and communication. MCM’s Vision: It is our vision to be recognized as a premier institution serving children and their families while inspiring children to learn about themselves and the culturally diverse community we live in through the arts, literacy, and early childhood education.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This place made a very run down impression, all rather unimaginative and many of the displays and interactive features were not working. Definitely not worth a return visit. And highly suggest not to go on the free day (last Friday of the month?), when we were there it was filled with noisy poorly supervised kids.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    107
    55
    26
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Imagination Gone Wild”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The museum gives little folks the opportunity to "be" firemen, doctors, store clerks, etc. Children love dressing up and acting out their dream jobs. Parents love watching their children having the time of their lives.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun for kids and inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I know some of the things here look old or used, but still, my kids love to visit this museum, my daughter specially loves the "mini" Publix (grocery store), where she can pretend to be in the market and fill out her "mini" cart or pretend to be the cashier. My son loves this museum also, his favorite part it's the one with the oranges on the market. We will continue to visit this museum whenever we can, it is fun and it is also cheap.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“not as it used to be very run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It used to be great for kids but it need remodeling it has been the same for yrs. The staff is very unfriendly and trafic to get there is horrible

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“needs more on hand on for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

took my grandchildren. I have been to children in other cities-this one is not as nice, not too many things for the kids to enteract and the ages aren't well represented

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Miami Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.