We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE FOR THE FAMILY WITH KIDS!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Children's Museum

Miami Children's Museum
980 MacArthur Causeway, Miami, FL 33132
305 373 5437
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #29 of 122 Attractions in Miami
Type: Children's Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Miami Children’s Museum (MCM) is dedicated to enriching the lives of all children by fostering a love of learning and enabling children to realize their highest potential. We encourage visitors of all ages to play, learn, imagine and create. We are a non-profit educational institution that meets the needs of all children in our multicultural community. We offer interactive exhibits, programs, and learning materials related to arts, culture, community and communication. MCM’s Vision: It is our vision to be recognized as a premier institution serving children and their families while inspiring children to learn about themselves and the culturally diverse community we live in through the arts, literacy, and early childhood education.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE FOR THE FAMILY WITH KIDS!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Every time i go to Miami i take my kids there , they love all the interactive games they have! It also has good prices and you stay out of the hot weather.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    112
    63
    29
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A fantastic interactive museum for kids !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Miami Children's Museum is a fantastic interactive museum for kids and the grown-up kid. Younger children will marvel at the plethora of interactive exhibits, and be delighted that they can touch and move anything they want in this colorful and inviting museum created just for them. The first floor includes a bank, supermarket, hospital, fire station, veterinary clinic, and television studio – all sized for kids. Upstairs, children of all ages can make art and music, board a cruise ship, work on a loading dock, and much more. The more adventurous can climb Mt. Michimu, a kid-sized rock climbing wall.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not what I remembered”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

When I was younger I remember this being the coolest place ever, but when I went on a trip with my niece I noticed things were dirty and that the staff was not very friendly to me on my visit. Although I try not to judge just based on staff members, all in all my niece had a great time and that's what mattered most.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Remember, it's for the children...!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Given the entire day of fun my two boys (aged 5 and 3) had here, I feel mean pointing out a few of the niggles. Car parking is in a city-run, pay-by-the-hour lot with a three-hour maximum (at least that's what I was told when I used the pay-by-phone option). Three hours is just not enough. Also, there's only one pay machine in the lot, which left families standing in 90F-plus heat waiting their turn. Not a good start fro cranky kids who just want to get on and play. There is another pay machine in the lobby of the museum, but of course you only discover that AFTER you've waited for the outside one!
The museum itself is very good. A little pricey at $16 for adults and children, but Bank of America cardholders get free admission the first weekend each month and Florida residents get $4 off as well (there are more discounts for Miami residents), so the deals combined lowered what would have been a $64 tab for us to just $24 - and that was terrific value.
There are so many areas inside to entertain and challenge children, my boys particularly loved the remote control boats and the cargo loading crane, but the mini-city and Olympic-themed play areas downstairs were a big draw too. There really is plenty for small children to get their hands on. Some areas need a little sprucing... some of the electronic displays on some exhibits and attractions didn't work, half of the music room was switched off and the shelves of the Publix supermarket play area were stripped of any play food - most of it had been thrown on the floor by other kids and there seemed to be nobody 'restocking'. My three-year-old was a bit bewildered pushing an empty cart round a supermarket with nothing to put in it.
Also, the only food for sale is in a Subway franchise in the lobby. Personally I don't think that's a very healthy option for an attraction aimed at children, but I guess the museum needs the $$$ and it's an easy option to franchise out.
But that aside, we were delighted with our visit and what was going to be a short stay turned into an all-day adventure. Just don't tell the City of Miami we overran our time in the parking lot!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

I had a great time @ this museum with my child. The museum is an excellent option if you are in the miami or fort lauderdale area and it happens to be a rainy day during your vacay and you need something indoors. Plenty of things to do and see. The only drawback is you have to pay by the hour for parking on top of the 16 entrance fee. I would rather pay a little higher price to go in than pay by the hour for parking. Also there is only 1 parking payment place in the lot and one in the lobby so there is a line..not very efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Miami Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.