We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airboat Ride and Alligator Show” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades Safari Park

Everglades Safari Park
26700 SW 8th Street, Miami, FL
305-226-6923
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #43 of 165 activities in Miami
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Observation Decks/ Towers, Tours, Lookouts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Visit the Florida Everglades' premier and most complete airboat attraction. Everglades Safari Park has a modern fleet of airboats of all sizes, capable of accommodating singles, couples, families, and large groups.Explore nature's River of Grass on an Eco-Adventure tour or on a small private airboat. Our experienced tour guides will describe you the wonders of this unique ecosystem and the native and exotic wildlife that inhabit it. All tours will include our world famous airboat rides, alligator wildlife show, and a walking trail filled with crocodilian exhibits.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Airboat Ride and Alligator Show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were provided with ear plugs but the air boat ride was loud regardless. Beautiful scenery and photo opportunities. The alligator show was very informative, but alligators didn't do much because it was not summer, their active season.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    228
    106
    38
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Private 1 hour Everglades airboat your”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

If you can afford it, the private 1 hour Everglades tour is amazing. George our tour guide gets 5 stars. Lots if wildlife, especially alligators and birds. We would definitely do it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Up Close and Personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked this "shore excursion" as a package through Carnival Cruises. The tour bus picked us up at the boat, took us to the Everglades and took us to the airport for our return flight home. The kids love the big airboat ride up the river, seeing the aligators in the water and along the shore, and all of the birds that we do not see at home. After the boat ride, there was a demonstration area, where knowledgeable guides held animals and let anyone who was interested hold them, too. Only our eleven year old was game enough to pick upt "Snappy" the resident aligator and hold him up for this photo shoot.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
312 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It was really bad weather the whole day we were at the park so that kind of ruined our experience but other than that it was quite fun and enjoyable. Air boat rid was trilling even though it could be longer! It was really unbelievable to see alligators from that close! I think it's worth the visit!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago and Beyond
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quite Entertaining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Booked this through Norweigan Cruise Lines shore excursions as a way to kill time before an evening flight home (it also provided service as airport transportation). All I wanted to do is get my picture holding an alligator and take an airboat ride. Both were done and I enjoyed them immensely!!

I must add that the tour guide we had on the bus trip from the port was fantastic, gave us history of the area, answered out of the ballpark questions and had specimens to illustrate what he was talking about. (I do not believe our guide was part of the Safari Park staff, but rather a contract employee of NCL).

For the park, it was fine just like what you expect from a gator park. Jeff the 'gator wrangler did a show with 5 large alligators and it was fascinating to watch. Yes, the gators knew their names! There is a nice board walk through everglades where we kept an eye out for turtles basking but didn't see much. There is a lagoon with other types of alligators from distant points of the compass. There was also a crocodile lake with rather impressively sized crocs.

The airboat portion was something I have always wanted to do as a kid, I've been to the 'glades several times but was never fortunate enough to do one. It was fun, sadly the water levels of the Everglades are so low that we couldn't go very fast. But! Since it is the migratory season there were Little Green Herons, Blue Herons, Wood Storks, Ibis, Snowy Egrets and Buzzards to be seen. It was fantastic to see the herons so close and flying out of our way. There were some soft-shell turtles swimming and of course many alligators!

I would recommend this for a quick visit. It will take a while to drive there, the Tamiami Trail road is under construction and there are places where there is only one lane for both directions of travel.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everglades Safari Park also viewed

 

Been to Everglades Safari Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades Safari Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.