We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous day out.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades Safari Park

Everglades Safari Park
26700 SW 8th Street, Miami, FL
305-226-6923
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 264 Activities in Miami
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Lookouts, Sightseeing Tours, Sights & Landmarks, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the Florida Everglades' premier and most complete airboat attraction. Everglades Safari Park has a modern fleet of airboats of all sizes, capable of accommodating singles, couples, families, and large groups.Explore nature's River of Grass on an Eco-Adventure tour or on a small private airboat. Our experienced tour guides will describe you the wonders of this unique ecosystem and the native and exotic wildlife that inhabit it. All tours will include our world famous airboat rides, alligator wildlife show, and a walking trail filled with crocodilian exhibits.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Manchester,UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous day out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Having been on an "everglades" trip near Naples a couple of years ago we knew what to expect.We decided on the private tour for four of us and this was well worth the cost.($180 after senior discount).Knew what to expect -yes but this was so much better.Starting with Captain Joe who certainly knew the area and its wildlife backwards.So much to see and be shown with an excellent explanation of the everglades ecosystem.There seemed to be alligators everywhere along with turtles and birds.Our trip lasted around 50mins.and was worth every penny.We unfortunately didn't have time to avail ourselves of the other attractions but this gives us another reason to return when we visit Miami again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    339
    151
    49
    22
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our FIRST Everglades tour!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

It was fun! However, a little disappointed that the Airboat was covered in plexiglass! The sides were open, but not quite what we expected! The tour guide was GREAT! In fact last night he was on the animal planet! He spent more time parked explaining the grasses than we did actually "airboating"!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice tour but is quite short”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

The airboat ride was awesome, but I was looking foward to walking tour but was it was short.The alligator show was fun intetesting & the guide was hillarious.Holding snappy the gator could be tricky since he moves alot & the guide sort of got angry at the people when he snappy starts moving due to them "not properly holding him"great tour just a shame it ends quick.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesena, Italy
Top Contributor
731 reviews 731 reviews
378 attraction reviews
Reviews in 246 cities Reviews in 246 cities
1,578 helpful votes 1,578 helpful votes
“too short”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

nice tour but I think that it was bad organized.
it was a race...i mean...amazing and interesting the tour on an air boat... we saw many alligators, turtles and birds but too short... nice the show with the alligators but 3usd for a picture near a small alligator? come on!
then, rush to the restaurant where you don't have the time to eat cos u have to come back to uor hotel!
better do it without tour package

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tour was nice but short, restaurant service was HORRIFYING”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The tour was nice, but a little short. The tour guide was entertaining and knowledgeable.
After the tour we decided to try some alligator cuisine at the on-site restaurant "Picnic Time." We ordered "gator bites" at the counter and sat down at one of the tables. The waitress/ food runner, who was about mid 20's with long, straight, dark brown hair brought us a small basket of fried strips with french fries. Naturally, having NEVER seen gator before, we thought nothing was wrong with the order.

A minute later after eating a couple french fries the woman returned to our table rudely asking why we would accept an order that was not our own - as if it was OUR fault she dropped the wrong food. We politely replied that we had no idea these were not gator bites (we hadn't even taken a bite of the fried strips yet anyway) to which she rudely responded that there were french fries too - Is it not an extremely common practice to serve french fries with an entree?? So, quite taken aback at this point, we asked her if she wanted the food back. She said "no, you have already eaten some of it. Don't worry about it, I will go get your food" and left without the food (just as she said she was going to do). SO we picked at the food (four chicken tenders and a handful of fries) while we waited for the gator bites. She returned ten minutes later, dropped the gator bites on the table and continued to stand there looking at us. We asked if she needed anything and again asked if she wanted the rest of the fries and chicken, to which she said with a look of disgust on her face "No. thats gross..." and walked away. Twenty minutes later after we had finished our meal and were preparing to leave she walked over and announced "They said you have to pay for the chicken tenders and fries" (approximately an extra $13). We replied that there was no way we were going to pay because we had not asked for the tenders and as soon as we found out they were chicken tenders and not gator bites we offered to give them back, to which she told us 'don't worry about it'. She then said "Well you didn't have to eat them!!"

*** If a waitress messes up your order, tells you not to worry about it, leaves it on your table and refuses to take it back multiple times, would you eat it or let it sit there going to waste??? She was clearly trying to back peddle and not take accountability for any of HER mistakes.***

Having worked in a restaurant for three years I am well aware that if YOU mess up an order, the customer is in NO WAY responsible for paying for the messed up order. Nor is it THEIR fault. If you as a restaurant do not want your customers to eat the additional order, you take it back and throw it away. OR you leave it there and allow them to eat it. It makes no sense whatsoever that you would leave a messed up order on a table for the entirety of the customers' stay and THEN expect them to pay for it. WORST SERVICE I HAVE EVER RECEIVED. And I am completely astonished that the management was a part of this too. What a joke.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Everglades Safari Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades Safari Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.