We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something to do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades Safari Park

Everglades Safari Park
26700 SW 8th Street, Miami, FL
305-226-6923
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 176 activities in Miami
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Observation Decks/ Towers, Tours, Lookouts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Visit the Florida Everglades' premier and most complete airboat attraction. Everglades Safari Park has a modern fleet of airboats of all sizes, capable of accommodating singles, couples, families, and large groups.Explore nature's River of Grass on an Eco-Adventure tour or on a small private airboat. Our experienced tour guides will describe you the wonders of this unique ecosystem and the native and exotic wildlife that inhabit it. All tours will include our world famous airboat rides, alligator wildlife show, and a walking trail filled with crocodilian exhibits.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Le Pradet, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Something to do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The airboat trip is something tou have to make if you are in florida, very closed from miami, 45minutes drive, the captain was very helpfull, and funny with jokes, we took a prvate one expensive but you are not on a charter, and the tour is bit more longer.
Spectacle was good

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    272
    115
    42
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio
Top Contributor
665 reviews 665 reviews
443 attraction reviews
Reviews in 226 cities Reviews in 226 cities
800 helpful votes 800 helpful votes
“Exhilarating and Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our family of four took a one hour private airboat tour which seemed to be a good balance of cost and opportunity to experience the Everglades by airboat. The private nature of the tour provided for a more intimate experience on a smaller boat that could go places the larger group boat could not. I would definitely recommend a private tour. We saw plenty of birds, gators and a few turtles and we all enjoyed zipping through the glades with the wind in our face. We were also able to get out in middle of the glades with no one else in sight, turn off the engine and get a true feel for the river of grass. After the tour we saw a gator show and the kids got the opportunity to hold a young gator and have their picture taken.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Has to be done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

How can you go to Miami without going to the Everglades?
We'd been warned there are some dodgy airboat rides where they take you out for 10 minutes and then tell you there's a restriction stopping them going any further that day. We bought this tour as part of a combined package with a Miami harbour tour and I'm pleased to say it was very good. Whilst you won't see Alligators every 10 yards (thats not how they live in the their natural habitat!) the guides take you to locations where they know they lurk and you get a really good idea of the scale of the wilderness that is the Everglades. It makes you glad you have a guide who knows the Everglades well!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wildlife? What wildlife?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Went here as part of a three in one Miami tour and this was definitely the most disappointing part. The airboat ride was quite short and we saw no wildlife apart from a flock of birds which was not identified by the guide. I understand that, by its very nature, wildlife sightings cannot be guaranteed. However, to be told that the lack of it was because of the "cool" weather, the animals wouldn't come out, and then to read in these reviews that other tourists had been told on different occasions was that it was too hot to bring out the wildlife, was a bit much. I'm sure that its the airboats themselves that scare off the animals. The guide was touting for tips at the end - I didn't see any of the disgruntled passengers give him any and he was sarcastically saying "glad you enjoyed the boat trip" as we left.

On to the "show". Again the excuse that it was too cold was trotted out to explain the alligators' lack of interaction with the trainer, so - no show!

The worst part of the experience was when I asked the trainer if the show alligators actually lived in the show pool in which we saw them. The pool is crescent-shaped with not particularly clean water, no vegetation of any sort and too small to accommodate the number of alligators there. The trainer replied that yes, they did live there, as to take them out (to anywhere decent) would lead to the loss of "interactivity" between him and the 'gators. I think this is disgraceful in the modern age.

I would like to see the Everglades properly, from a proper boat and without the animals being caged in such an offensive way. I believe that this can be achieved in other parts of the Everglades, but it seems you do need your own transport to achieve this. In the meantime, I recommend that animal lovers steer clear of Everglades Safari Park.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Ok for first time visitors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My third time in the Everglades but my first time at this park; the grounds are nicer compared to others and there is a full size restaurant. Ample parking and space to walk around a bit before the airboat ride. The airboat ride itself was pretty uneventful with only one stop (other parks had 2-3) and the best part was the actual fast ride through the glades which lasts about 3 minutes, before you slow down and "cruise". Our guide was funny and knowledgeable and able to answer our questions. We didn't see much wildlife, but of course there's no guarantee that you will. Apparently the winter months are better for viewing, since it's the dry season and water levels are lower. (Dec. - April). Overall an OK experience, but although I didn't keep time, it seemed that the airboat ride was a bit short. For best wildlife viewing, I would recommend Shark Valley, just down the road and then you can do an airboat ride in any park, just for the ride's sake. Take some extra time to get there, because there is major road work going on right now well into December
We made a day of the Everglades and what really worked for us was the following:
1. Start with Shark Valley to see Alligators and birds (it's also the furthest point on Rt 41
2. Back track and do any airboat ride along the way (on the south side of the road)
3. Continue back tracking then take the 997 south to Florida city, then the 9336 to "Royal Palms Visitor Center" to do the Anhinga trail. It's a bit of a drive but really worth it! Nice boardwalk, wheel chair accessible and a good short family walking trail on a boardwalk. Lots of birds, alligators and flora etc.
That would make it a full day and worth the drive to the Everglades (1 hr from Miami, 1 1/2 hrs from Ft. Lauderdale)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Everglades Safari Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades Safari Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Everglades Safari Park to your Saves list