We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for first time visitors” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades Safari Park

Everglades Safari Park
26700 SW 8th Street, Miami, FL
305-226-6923
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 180 Activities in Miami
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Observation Decks/ Towers, Tours, Lookouts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Visit the Florida Everglades' premier and most complete airboat attraction. Everglades Safari Park has a modern fleet of airboats of all sizes, capable of accommodating singles, couples, families, and large groups.Explore nature's River of Grass on an Eco-Adventure tour or on a small private airboat. Our experienced tour guides will describe you the wonders of this unique ecosystem and the native and exotic wildlife that inhabit it. All tours will include our world famous airboat rides, alligator wildlife show, and a walking trail filled with crocodilian exhibits.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Montreal
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Ok for first time visitors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My third time in the Everglades but my first time at this park; the grounds are nicer compared to others and there is a full size restaurant. Ample parking and space to walk around a bit before the airboat ride. The airboat ride itself was pretty uneventful with only one stop (other parks had 2-3) and the best part was the actual fast ride through the glades which lasts about 3 minutes, before you slow down and "cruise". Our guide was funny and knowledgeable and able to answer our questions. We didn't see much wildlife, but of course there's no guarantee that you will. Apparently the winter months are better for viewing, since it's the dry season and water levels are lower. (Dec. - April). Overall an OK experience, but although I didn't keep time, it seemed that the airboat ride was a bit short. For best wildlife viewing, I would recommend Shark Valley, just down the road and then you can do an airboat ride in any park, just for the ride's sake. Take some extra time to get there, because there is major road work going on right now well into December
We made a day of the Everglades and what really worked for us was the following:
1. Start with Shark Valley to see Alligators and birds (it's also the furthest point on Rt 41
2. Back track and do any airboat ride along the way (on the south side of the road)
3. Continue back tracking then take the 997 south to Florida city, then the 9336 to "Royal Palms Visitor Center" to do the Anhinga trail. It's a bit of a drive but really worth it! Nice boardwalk, wheel chair accessible and a good short family walking trail on a boardwalk. Lots of birds, alligators and flora etc.
That would make it a full day and worth the drive to the Everglades (1 hr from Miami, 1 1/2 hrs from Ft. Lauderdale)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    289
    125
    47
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suisse
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Sensational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We did the 45 minutes airboat trip which was exciting but certainly does not give you enough of an impression of this huge area that are the Everglades, so we combined it with the tram tour not far away from the Safari Park.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went here with a cruise excursion before or flight left. The park was nice and well kept with many gators visible even before the glades tour starts (they seem to like hanging out in the dock area). The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. The actual airboat trip is really cool. Because this place is located outside of the main city, you get to see a good view of the everglades and it seemed like they stretched on forever, simply massive! Unfortunately we didn't get to see any gators out in the glades but keeping in mind this was a summer where there was very little rain and it was ridiculously hot. The park itself contains a few crocodilian species from around the world but the exhibit were in great shape and seemed to be well cared for. The live show was interesting as they educate the visitors on some of the biology of gators alongside some demonstrations. There is also a cool boardwalk that takes you through a classical hammock ecosystem. Overall, a cool place to spend the day and I would recommend it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth W.A.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Always wanted to go on an airboat ride since seeing them on a TV series. This one included aligators. Only saw a couple from the boat but lots in the Park. About a 45 min. bus ride from Miami included.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun Everglades experience and great value for money, close to Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Ideally, we wanted to get the true Everglades experience by driving out to Everglades City and taking one of the National Park Service-sanctioned tours, but we didn't have the time, so decided to look for something closer to Miami. We were driving out to Buffalo Tiger's Airboat Tours and were almost there when I noticed in the reviews that they conduct a practice of feeding alligators for the entertainment of the public. I'm a person that strongly believes in letting wildlife be wildlife, so feeding wildlife and treating it as a circus animal is a big no-no! So while looking for another establishment, we came across this place - Everglades Safari Park.

We quickly looked online, saw decent reviews and found a $3 off coupon that made the airboat ride $20 per person. So we decided to give it a try and we were glad we did! The airboat ride itself lasted about 45 minutes. The guide was professional and knowledgeable around the swamps. He'd been doing this for 22 years and it was apparent in how easily he navigated us through that watery maze. We got to see a number of alligators sunning themselves on one of the island banks and we saw them in a responsible manner - our guide slowly drove the boat past them, good enough so that we could get tons of pictures, but far enough away that the animals were not disturbed. We were also given disposable ear plugs to mitigate the roar of the airboat and I appreciated the fact that the guide made a point to mention to us to keep the plastic wrapper for the ear plug with us until we got back to the dock.

The alligator show itself afterwards was OK, nothing to write home about. They offered us a chance to hold a captive-born baby alligator in our hands, for a fee of $3 (which they say goes to the care of their captive gators). Worth doing for a photo-op.

The walk on the boardwalk afterwards was fun. We got to see their captive reptiles, there were information boards like in zoos with information about these captive animals, and the boardwalk takes us through sections of the park where we can see wild alligators just lounging by the waterside. The staff takes care to inform you that you should not venture close to these animals and you'll be safe. I appreciate the fact that they haven't barricaded every walkway. It makes the experience more real.

All in all, if you're constrained for time or not so interested in wildlife that you want to drive all the way out to Everglades City, the Everglades Safari Park is a solid, affordable choice close to Miami.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Everglades Safari Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades Safari Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.