We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great people, nice spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domino Park

Domino Park
S.W. 8th St. and S.W. 15th Ave., Miami, FL (Little Havana)
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
615 reviews 615 reviews
304 attraction reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
1,397 helpful votes 1,397 helpful votes
“great people, nice spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

this is the right place where to go if u wanna see the old Cubans playing their favourite hobby: domino! according to our guide: this should had been a dangerous place above all if u took pictures thats why we were a bit worried when we got there but the welcome we received left us speechless.
so many nice and kind old Cubans that were playing domino and that invited us to take all the pictures we wanted (for free, of course) and who enjoyed telling us tales and stories about the past and their beloved Cuba.
great place

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Daily busloads of tourists for a teenie treat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Long before Calle Ocho was a tourist attraction Cubans, many of whom knew each other from Cuba before the Castro brothers took over, were playing dominos "en caliente" at Domino Park. They concentrated so hard at besting their rivals of many years. Years later Calle Ocho got quite a bit of notoriety. Nowadays it's kind of sad in a way, to see busloads of gawkers dropped in front of the very small park for about fifteen minutes to stare at the players as though they are specimens. Their story is so much deeper than fifteen minutes can ever even hint at. Thirty years ago Calle Ocho was still the throbbing social pulse of Little Havana but today it's a shadow of its former self. Many of the Cubans have left the neighborhood and been replaced with other Hispanics with their own stories and history. Visitors from abroad and up North probably would not be able to see or hear any differences in the Spanish speaking inhabitants but to locals the differences in accent, tone, body language, etc. are are sure sign that the area is changing. My advice is to hop off the bus Gus and spend a couple hours walking (especially now in the cool dry season which lasts until May) and have a nice lunch. Bienvenidos!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“More History shoulod be provided”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I enjoyed the domino Park, but an area for children to play should be added. I think of Lego land in Disney and wish that Domino park would be given for more activities so that maybe the youth could appreciate the elderly a little more. The park needs more color and style.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Dade
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Watch local seniors play Dominos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a very small but decorative,local park which really is just a facility for local Cuban seniors to play Dominos and smoke Cigars but it has a lovely plaza. The Plaza was decorated by artists and it's mainly tile paintings and a large mural.. They currently have a few vendors selling their wares.
I don't recommend just coming to Domino Park as an attraction but if you want to see the local Latin/Cuban historical area,then YES. Make it part of your tour of Little Havana from SW13ave to 16 ave on SW 8st.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Historical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

After breakfast, my wife, my puppy and I stroll over to the Domino Park to watch the veterans play Dominoes. It is historical and cultural. During our last visit we saw that the City of Miami were powerwashing the whole park...it's nice to see that such a tradition is kept up by both it's participants and the City.

Go and check it out if you have never seen it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domino Park also viewed

 

Been to Domino Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domino Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Domino Park to your Saves list