We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domino Park

Domino Park
S.W. 8th St. and S.W. 15th Ave., Miami, FL (Coral Way)
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 296 things to do in Miami
Attraction details
Miami
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

It is a delight to see so many people enjoying themselves in such an open manner. Different cultures can bring people together in odd ways. Worth a visit

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    20
    20
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
472 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
“Definitely worth seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

You're missing out on Miami if you don't give Little Havana and Calle Ocho a visit. Domino Park (aka Maximo Gomez Park) is real culture. Even on a Wednesday afternoon, scores of men are playing double-nines and double-six dominoes, along with others playing chess. This is a private club but very accessible for picture takers like myself. I was surprised that there is a "no smoking" sign up for the club. Across the street is the Little Havana Cigar Factory (shop) where others gather to enjoy a cigar. Nearby cafes serve Cuban style coffee. Even though I was not Cuban or Spanish speaking, I found everyone very socialable and willing to explain what I was seeing. A rich experience!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
193 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Doesn't everyone play Dominoes on the street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Cuban's grow up playing Dominoes....we hear the stories of the old Cubans playing in the streets of Cuba and this is the closest we can get to that tradition. Fun to walk around and watch the locals playing. It's real not a tourist gimmick.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“very interesting when it is crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

when there are a lot of people playing you can feel the old
Cuban/Latin culture, and the people wathing is really good.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domino Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domino Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.