We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passport ease” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami City Hall

Miami City Hall
3500 Pan American Dr., Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)
305 250 5400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Government Buildings
Attraction Details
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Passport ease”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I came here to get my passport. I recently moved to the area and on the way lost my passport. I came in today and was in and out fairly quickly. I made it in and out in less than an hour, and that included have to leave and come back twice (my fault, I forgot to get a money order and I don't own checks!) Only bit of advice would be to bring a money order if you don't have checks!

The ladies at the counter were very helpful. If you have everything you need, it shouldn't take more than 10-15 minutes. I went on a Monday at 10AM... no line!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This city hall is at a very nice location that screams Florida...with Coconut Grove right there...Marinia right there and easy acess to Key Biscayne

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“comfort food with a twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

interesting food, interesting menu, i didnt know what to order it all looked good

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“what a waste of a beautiful view!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Only in Miami would the dirty politicians be treated daily to the best view in town. Bayfront in Coconut Grove, it used to be the Pan Am Hub to Cuba. With all the empty space in center Coconut Grove that can't be filled, move the grafters there and develop a REAL waterfront complex that someone can use.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Most unusial City Hall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Miami's City Hall started out as Pan American's Seaplane Terminal. The terminus, once the largest and most modern marine air facility in the world when it was built in the early 1930's, has been Miami's City Hall since 1954. The building was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1974 and is Art Deco architectural style.

Having undergone extensive restorations, various elements of the interior have regained their original look such as the ceiling, the wall murals and the beams. The ceiling consists of panels depicting the signs of the Zodiac painted in a sleek modern style. The beams holding up the ceiling are decorated with stylized "wings" and bands in the Pan American colors. Covered with paint during the 1950's, the murals near the ceiling depict the history of flight, from Leonardo Da Vinci's designs to the modern Clipper planes flown by Pan American.

Don't be put off by the somewhat formidable security guard at the entrance. It is a public building and well worth visiting inside. Take special note of the wonderful photo collection on the ground and first floors depicting the history of PanAm.

Dinner Key served as a base for Pan American World Airways' flying boats during the 1930s and 1940s. It was one of the world's largest airports and the main hub for air traffic between North and South America. After the technological advances of World War II made seaplanes largely obsolete, Pan Am transferred its operations to Miami International Airport.

One of Pan Am's hangars was used for many years as an exhibition hall and auditorium, the Dinner Key Auditorium. This was the site of the incident in 1969 in which Jim Morrison of the Doors was arrested for exposing himself to the audience.

Today, Dinner Key is used primarily as a marina and is the largest in Florida.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami City Hall also viewed

 

Been to Miami City Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami City Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Miami City Hall to your Saves list