We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olympia Theater at Gusman Center

Olympia Theater at Gusman Center
174 E. Flagler St., Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)
+1 305-374-2444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 203 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Olympia Theater opened in 1926 as downtown Miami's grandest silent movie palace and Vaudeville house. Today, the Olympia is home to live performances, films, community events, corporate meetings and social affairs.
Orlando
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Historic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I watched Obama inauguration on a big screen in this theater. It was memorable. I went to 2 concerts there as well. The theater is historic and looks so different from every places in miami. It is clean and welcoming. This old feeling as soon as you walk inside. It is magical.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    12
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I should go more often”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great venue, good shows, old school theater. Just before leaving the theater I always think... I should come here more often....

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Opera The Barber of Seville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We love to come that wonderful opera house. The perormances are always beautiful and they have some really amazing singers as last time Nelson Martinez as Figaro.
The tickets are very fair prized. It is always a pleasure. Thanks a lot!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Recently visited for Madama Butterfly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This historical theatre is the scene for my childhood elementary trips to various shows, from Carmen to awards ceremonies. What you forget is just how small and quaint it is if you haven't been lately. The twinkling stars on the ceiling, the pretty frescos and balconies, and the fact that every seat gets you close enough to see all the faces, just puts you into the show. No binoculars needed. You can hear a pin drop!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Gusman is a beautiful old theater in downtown Miami. We visit it every year for the Miami Film Festival. Has a huge pipe organ and a gentleman plays it while you enter and takes a bow when finished. Designed like you are in an outdoor amphitheater.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olympia Theater at Gusman Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympia Theater at Gusman Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.