We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gives a beautiful cuisine a bad name” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Carreta

La Carreta
3632 SW 8th St, Miami, FL 33135-4112 (Little Havana)
(305) 444-7501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #219 of 3,649 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Little Havana
Cancun, Mexico
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gives a beautiful cuisine a bad name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Always been a fan of all things Cuban. I like their food and I like their people. Had been to this restaurant many years back and had fond memories of it. Last week, however, was the exception. I don't know if everything went sour because the waiter serving us has been one of the worst in my life or because their kitchen failed that day. So much so that I asked for the Manager and refused to pay the included service charge. Oh well, once in a while you get those too....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    137
    66
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A lot for your money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I love this place. The food was really good, not to expensive. My husband order breakfast. I order a few empanadas and cheese grit. A must for anyone traveling to Miami.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No nonsense food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Good solid food, nothing fancy, but plenty of it! Love the roasted pork, juicy and tender.
Full of local people, this is not mainly for tourists.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good local fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

In Coral Gables on business. Really looking for some good Cuban food and saw signage. Very local flavor as Spanish spoken first and by all around us. Definately where locals go as place was extremely busy. Servers very nice and food was very good. Would definitely recommend and will be sure to return on my next trip!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“ok cuban food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

It's all over the city, but not the best Cuban food you can taste here. It's more of a fast food restaurant. If you are in the airport, well, it's one of the better options.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Carreta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carreta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.