We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As close to home-cooked as you can find in the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Carreta Airport

La Carreta Airport
Miami International Airport, Concourse D, Miami, FL 33299
305 871 3003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #199 of 3,717 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“As close to home-cooked as you can find in the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I had the picadillo with rice and plantains. It was all good... the picadillo was a bit salty for my taste, but I don't eat much salt. I would definitely eat here again when flying through MIA. It's nice to have a different option than the chains that are in every airport.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    72
    11
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“good airport food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stopped to have some well needed meal and it was very tasty. I was disappointed that our food was cold, so I asked for it be hot. They put it under a warmer and when we returned to our table, it had not warmed at all. With limited time at the airport, we ate it anyway. It was good but would have been better heated properly.
As we were leaving the restaurant, the manager about how everything was. He was very embarrassed at our bad experience and told me to next time bypass the cook/waitress and just ask for the manager.
Lesson learned.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
751 helpful votes 751 helpful votes
“Scrum...deli-icious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

There is such a thing as heaven on earth, Cuban style at the Miami international Airport. If you are looking to get your last authentic Cuban fix before flying out, look no further, you have found the right restaurant.

I ordered a breaded chicken with moro and plantains - as you see from the delicious photo. The food was absolutely amazing, except the plantains, which are sometimes good and sometimes not. Can you tell I eat often from here when flying out?

The chicken was absolutely fresh and tender, lightly fried to perfection! It was delicious.

Only complaint I have as far as this particular dining experience was that when I got to the gate, I was upgraded to first class. I know this sounds pretentious, awesome and fun, and it is somewhat. However, eating two meals at one mealtime is not my favorite thing to do! On second thought, even if you were flying first class serving a meal, avoid the airplane food and have this! Yum!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Arkansas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This food speaks for itself!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Delicious! THIS IS A MUST STOP FOR ANYONE AT THE MIAMI AIRPORT!!! There might be a line --- it's worth the wait. One of my co-workers hooked me on this place. Yum yum OXTAILS!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Skip TGIF...go here before and after your flight!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We transferred in Miami both going and coming from Barbados. Going we stopped here to pick up a couple of sandwiches, one Cuban and one midnight (? I think). Both sandwiches were under $10 and HUGE! We totally enjoyed them on our flight to Barbados. Returning, we had a 4 hour layover, so we decided to go the restaurant side of La Carreta...the food is CHEAP...I mean a quarter chicken, rice and beans and plantains for less than $9...you can't beat that! We started to go to TGIFridays, but we are so glad we tried La Carreta!!! Hands down, THE BEST!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Carreta Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carreta Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.