We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of BEST Japanese restaurants in Miami, even better that restaurants in Japan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matsuri Japanese Restaurant

Matsuri Japanese Restaurant
5759 Bird Rd, Miami, FL 33155-5335
305-663-1615
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 3,423 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of BEST Japanese restaurants in Miami, even better that restaurants in Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This rating was even given by Japanese people, I like everything on the menu and most important Mr. Masa which I believe is the owner is in front of the counter making the food himself,

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    48
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of the best, but the service was average...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

This may be one of the best Sushi places in Miami. The food, selection and prices were great. We went on a Sunday night and it was full with a 15-20 min wait. The food came out quick and fresh. The only draw back was that our server was swamped and let the empty plates pile up while other employees where doing nothing and texting. I would still recommend this place cause the good surely outweighs the bad.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fine Sushi in a not very good sushi city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The place in a strip mall is very well decorated. The sushi of fine quality, though nothing comparable to Los Angeles or new York. The sashimi is too thinckly cut, the wine list not very good. But from our experience, the best sushi place we've been to in Miami.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Located in an unattractive strip-mall, away from all tourist destinations... I must admit that when approaching the parking lot, the idea of turning around my wheels and change my plans, did cross my mind... but It didn't take me too long to understand that Matsuri was the real deal! The modern and sleek dining room was full early in the evening and a good percentage of the clientele seem to be of Asian descent. The entire evening was pleasant from the warm greetings to the punctual service... the highlight being the freshness of the ingredients and the authenticity of the execution. Matsuri may not be your South Florida hip cool place... but if you want a great dinner worth every penny, Matsuri is a winner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Oishi...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

One of the best japanese eateries in town. Edamame , hage tofu and sashimi ososukuri (thin sliced) were great last time I went there, the service is excelent and prices are not bad at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuri Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Matsuri Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matsuri Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.