We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Japanese food...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matsuri Japanese Restaurant

Matsuri Japanese Restaurant
5759 Bird Rd, Miami, FL 33155-5335
305-663-1615
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 3,704 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Located in an unattractive strip-mall, away from all tourist destinations... I must admit that when approaching the parking lot, the idea of turning around my wheels and change my plans, did cross my mind... but It didn't take me too long to understand that Matsuri was the real deal! The modern and sleek dining room was full early in the evening and a good percentage of the clientele seem to be of Asian descent. The entire evening was pleasant from the warm greetings to the punctual service... the highlight being the freshness of the ingredients and the authenticity of the execution. Matsuri may not be your South Florida hip cool place... but if you want a great dinner worth every penny, Matsuri is a winner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    47
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Oishi...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

One of the best japanese eateries in town. Edamame , hage tofu and sashimi ososukuri (thin sliced) were great last time I went there, the service is excelent and prices are not bad at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good, yet not perfect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We had a reservation for dinner on Sunday, came just on time, but had to wait another 45 minutes to be seated (they kept saying 'just a few minutes, please' every 5-10 mins). It seems they practice regular overbooking like AirFrance. The food was good, but I would not risk waiting such a long time again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Miami, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“By far, the best Japanese in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

FRESH, high quality sushi and sashimi in Miami - the only place in town. Melts on your mouth fresh. They also do many other favorites like yaki ika better than anyone around. Well rounded, authentic menu, and if it's not there they might just make it for you anyway (They make a mean chawanmushi that is not on the menu. Real izakaya goodness, not fusion with a side of attitude.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Delicious Japanese food in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Matsuri is located at a strip mall at Bird Rd and Red St. Parking is plentiful.they are closed on Mondays, only open for dinner on Saturday and Sunday. Also Open for lunch Tuesday to Friday. I would recommend making reservations because the place does get really crowded. We had dinner on a Saturday night and the place was packed. We're lucky because they seated us at a booth, the other tables are sort of crowded close together. The decor is pleasing and simple. Service was very good and the order did not take too long. We had their sashimi, fresh and good. Ordered ramen(we just love ramen), and theirs is just right, broth was tasty and noodles al dente. We tried some Japanese dishes, their Gyoza was delicious, the chicken yakitori and seafood pancake just okay. The kamen tempura (crab,shrimp and watercress rolled and deep fried, sort of like a fried sushi roll) was crispy and yummy. The best dish was the Hotate Yaki or large scallops stir fry, cooked and seasoned perfectly. This is a great place for japanese food. They also have a Japanese menu(the Ramen is in this menu). This is a really great place to have some Japanese food fix, whether sushi, sashimi,ramen or Japanese grill/barbecue.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuri Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Matsuri Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matsuri Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.