We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Japanese food in Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matsuri Japanese Restaurant

Matsuri Japanese Restaurant
5759 Bird Rd, Miami, FL 33155-5335
305-663-1615
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 3,819 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Delicious Japanese food in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Matsuri is located at a strip mall at Bird Rd and Red St. Parking is plentiful.they are closed on Mondays, only open for dinner on Saturday and Sunday. Also Open for lunch Tuesday to Friday. I would recommend making reservations because the place does get really crowded. We had dinner on a Saturday night and the place was packed. We're lucky because they seated us at a booth, the other tables are sort of crowded close together. The decor is pleasing and simple. Service was very good and the order did not take too long. We had their sashimi, fresh and good. Ordered ramen(we just love ramen), and theirs is just right, broth was tasty and noodles al dente. We tried some Japanese dishes, their Gyoza was delicious, the chicken yakitori and seafood pancake just okay. The kamen tempura (crab,shrimp and watercress rolled and deep fried, sort of like a fried sushi roll) was crispy and yummy. The best dish was the Hotate Yaki or large scallops stir fry, cooked and seasoned perfectly. This is a great place for japanese food. They also have a Japanese menu(the Ramen is in this menu). This is a really great place to have some Japanese food fix, whether sushi, sashimi,ramen or Japanese grill/barbecue.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank galtraveller22011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth The Wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

They were incredibly busy on a rainy Miami evening but the food and environment was well worth the wait. Great sushi!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tlittlej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh is all you need to know.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

When it comes to sushi or sashimi the freshness and quality of the ingredients are key. I have never been dissapointed at Matsuri by the food. My wife is not a fish or seafood person so it is generally when friends gather that I get this treat. As other reviews seem to suggest the service is at times hit or miss, mostly hit but the misses are bad enough to deny an excellent overall rating. Go with friends and order a variety of rolls and fish to get a wide flavor pallete. The ambience is very nice since the remodel and it is dressy casual. Owner Masa really makes the place by getting the freshest ingredients. If you like sushi you'll love Matsuri.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryG33143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

It had a formal atmosphere and was full when we went there. Great service. The food was very good and fresh. The soups and the katsudon where great. I recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hernan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Japanese restaurant in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Best California rolls I've ever had! Also beef teriyaki was excellent too. Really couldn't imagine that I could be able to eat such good Japanese food here in Miami.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hh2119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuri Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Matsuri Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing