We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth The Wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matsuri Japanese Restaurant

Matsuri Japanese Restaurant
5759 Bird Rd, Miami, FL 33155-5335
305-663-1615
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 3,425 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth The Wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

They were incredibly busy on a rainy Miami evening but the food and environment was well worth the wait. Great sushi!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    49
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh is all you need to know.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

When it comes to sushi or sashimi the freshness and quality of the ingredients are key. I have never been dissapointed at Matsuri by the food. My wife is not a fish or seafood person so it is generally when friends gather that I get this treat. As other reviews seem to suggest the service is at times hit or miss, mostly hit but the misses are bad enough to deny an excellent overall rating. Go with friends and order a variety of rolls and fish to get a wide flavor pallete. The ambience is very nice since the remodel and it is dressy casual. Owner Masa really makes the place by getting the freshest ingredients. If you like sushi you'll love Matsuri.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

It had a formal atmosphere and was full when we went there. Great service. The food was very good and fresh. The soups and the katsudon where great. I recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Japanese restaurant in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Best California rolls I've ever had! Also beef teriyaki was excellent too. Really couldn't imagine that I could be able to eat such good Japanese food here in Miami.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really outstanding authentic sushi and Japanese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed it immensely--really fantastic, reasonably priced (not really cheap-mind you-but great value) food w/ super selection of sushi, including uni (sea urchin). Nice dressy casual atmosphere-neither pretentious and trendy nor sloppy. Great, reasonable sake selections. Service was good enough.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuri Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Matsuri Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matsuri Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.