We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Road to us locals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tobacco Road - CLOSED

Tobacco Road
626 S. Miami Ave., Miami, FL 33130 (Downtown)
305 374 1198
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Road to us locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a great place, lots of history, and the food is always terrific. Usually have a live band playing and sometimes you never know who just might drop in.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    36
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great bar food at Miami's oldest bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

This place apparently has been around for 100+ years, but will be torn down soon to make way for new condos. We had a great lunch. Buffalo wings and homemade salsa and chips were a great appetizer. I followed that with a cheeseburger with bacon and egg. Awesome. Excellent potato bun. My wife had the black bean burger which she thought was great. We sat outside which was fun and comfortable. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lunch during workweek.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great selection of food and beverages. Withing walking distance of Miami/Brickell area. Use metromover for easy transportation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice, different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The music is very enjoyable, and so were the drinks. We had heard about this place from our friends and decided to finally try it out. we had lots of fun.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Go for Drinks, Music, History”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stopped by here on a Sunday after a History Miami Downtown Tour around 2:30 PM. Tobacco Road is historic in itself, being the oldest bar in Miami. I had been before for drinks and music, but never for lunch and I was starving. We paid $5 to park in the back and inadvertently walked through a memorial service for a bartender who had worked there more than 20 years and recently died. Hit the rest room, which was kind of gross, with paper stuck in holes in the wall and sat down at a table where my husband removed an old peice of lettuce. After waiting for a while, gave up and went up to the bar to order beers and ask the bartender for a menu. She was preoccupied with some patrons at the end of the bar who looked like they might have been there all day. We got our beers and ordered fish dip and a Classic Road Burger, medium rare with pepperjack cheese ($7) to split. I had heard the burgers here were really good and wanted to try one. The fish dip was fine, standard restaurant fare fish dip, not too creamy. It was served with tortilla chips and carrots and celery. The vegetables had an off taste to them, like they'd been around for a while, so I stuck to the chips. The burger was good, juicy, a little overcooked, but I was starving. Nice bun, soft but not too soft. It came with lettuce, tomato and sliced onion. The fries, hand cut with the skin on, that came with it, were good, but not hot, like they'd been sitting under a warmer. After the service was over, people started streaming in, meanwhile the lone bartender was looking at some DVD's a guy had brought in to sell. I saw several people staring at the back of her head, trying to get her attention. My husband had to go to the bar to get a second beer and returned there to pay our check. He did not leave a tip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobacco Road also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobacco Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.