We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Starlite Diner

Starlite Diner
8695 SW 124TH Ave, Miami, FL 33183-4603
(305) 595-4444
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,860 of 3,610 restaurants in Miami
Cuisines: American
Good for: Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“horrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Buffalo chicken panini was so hard, I couldn't bite through, with only one piece of battered chicken in the middle. The coleslaw just was swimming in mayo with no other flavor or seasoning. The french fries were soaked in grease. Unfortunately, I asked for a take-out, and didn't realize how bad the food was until I got back to my hotel. I had a strawberry milkshake while waiting, and it was a good old fashioned kind and tasted good, except that the waitress was coughing...
I'm not going back there again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

15% Recommend
    2
    0
    2
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“FUN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Old fashioned diner, neat! Must visit! Food typical of diner, but a full bar and a real fun place.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The FDA Should Investigate”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This place is not only a scam (see reviews below) but the food was horrendous. We had violent food poisoning from the "special" shrimp, lobster, and mussel platter. They advertised it as $30 a person and we walked out with a $250 bill with no drinks. The ceviche tasted as if it had been sitting for days. Should have known better than to get sucked into a South Beach trap.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average food & disgusting bathroom!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The food here was bland it had no flavor at all. The server forgot our drinks & when he finally brought them he also brought his dinner & proceeded to sit at the table next to us & eat. When he was done he went & retrieved our food which was lukewarm at best. After the meal I asked where the restroom was & he led me down the alley next to the restaurant to a unisex bathroom the looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks not to mention the smell! I Would not go back here.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awful place. AVOID!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

Awful place at a great location. Me and my girlfriend went for a drink. When we got the menu there were no prices on there and we both decided to go for a Bud light. To our surprise we got 36 oz. of it. It cost us 24,99 a glass! I am glad they didn't bring us a keg because we could have cancelled our vacation due to being flat broke! Our waiter was very rude too so we decided to cut his tip in half. It turns out they took all of the tip (via credit card) anyway. This is not over! Don't go there!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starlite Diner also viewed

 

Been to Starlite Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlite Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.