We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food still top...but prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Oyster Bar

River Oyster Bar
650 South Miami Avenue, Brickel Village, Miami, FL 33130 (Downtown)
305 530 1915
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
River Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #137 of 3,429 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 7th Street
Transit: 8th Street Metro Mover
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Food still top...but prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Food at the River Oyster Bar is still top, but prices are getting a bit out of whack. On top of very high price the restaurant charges a 20% service fee and leaves space for additional tips, with the waiter putting a smear when an additional fee is tot given. We ate very well with the exception of a crab starter which was definitely not up to expected standards. We tend to go to the Oyster Bar whenever we visit Miami but if prices continue their upward spiral, we are not sure we'll return. It is about time that Restaurants recognize that a a Tip is to recognize excellent service, not something that has lately become compulsory.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    78
    31
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The River is a great place to get your seafood fix. It's a small quaint place. So you may have to wait for a seat. The bartenders are generous. I had the bbq bacon wrapped shrimp, oysters, and the gnocchi with crab. Oh my was it scrumptious! The flavors were distinct and stayed with you after the meal. The only complaint is that it took a while to get our food. I highly recommend eating here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bariano, Italy
Level Contributor
80 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The restaurant is close to my residence when in Miami. I spent several visit there. As per my opinion, the best is the "Branzino al sale". Excellent gazpacho and fabolous oysters.
Services very efficient (usually).
Good also to get dinner alone at the bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Second time at restaurant: a ripp off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Ordered the lobster entree. Last time it was just EXCELLENT. Best ever. This time hard to eat, overcooked, I should have returned it. Could hardly crack the shell. The Gewurtztraminer was not cold so they served another white wine, turned out to be a low value Austrian wine. Bcoming like any other touristic restaurant. Never going back. Sorry. Classified.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Business Dinner Meeting Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This restaurant had a back room for private dinner meetings, very secluded and comfortable for a group of 10-20+. Large screen TV and large window for a great open feel. The food and service were good as well. I didnt see the prices.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.