We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Oyster Bar

River Oyster Bar
650 South Miami Avenue, Brickel Village, Miami, FL 33130 (Downtown)
305 530 1915
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
River Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 3,622 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 7th Street
Transit: 8th Street Metro Mover
Birmingham, AL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were able to walk to this bustling, busy restaurant situated close to the river. The food was fresh and very tasty. My husband had oysters and enjoyed the selection available. The fish was perfectly cooked.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    99
    57
    24
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boyds, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Happy Hour for Oysters & Cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Came here on a Thursday after work meetings. It was full by 5:30. Good food, fun environment and very reasonable. Popular with late 20's to 55 plus crowd.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service. Not to miss.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Food and service was great. We had blue crab gnocci (to die for) and cobia entry. All appetizers were good and there were many more that we would order that looked interesting. Drinks were excellent. Happy hour is offered until 7 p.m., seems like a good pre dinner deal for a couple of drinks/apps. Place gets busy, reservations recommended. Service was excellent which is quite rare these days. River Oyster is for sure a place we would come back to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dinner May 8”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

7 people for dinner who won't be back. Surly waiter, don't care manager, long wait for food, waiter refused to help bone whole fish, ran out of clams! expensive too.
never again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband, 2 year old daughter and I had dinner at this restaurant last Thursday evening. It was loud and busy when we arrived with ther after work crowd. We were seated at a table towards the rear of the restaurant and that worked fine for us. We had an excellent dinner. I had the kale salad for a starter and my husband had the river chopped salad. My salad was great - very fresh, interesting flavours. The waiter brought the bacon which came with the salad in a small plate on the side without my asking which I appreciated. The salad portions were generous without being too much. My main course was the snapper filet - again, just really really good. My husband had the whole (bones and all!) salt baked branzino. He enjoyed every single morsel of that fish. I tasted some of it and I yes indeed - fresh, lightly seasoned, absolutely delish! I enjoyed a reisling with my dinner and my husband had a pinot - both off the menu by the glass and very good. But for the location which is just on the corner of a side street on the outskirts of the hub of downtown Miami and not particularly impressive, this place is definetly a go to spot for a nice dinner in Miami. Our waiter was also spot on - not the warmest/fuzziest of persons but he was very efficient. I recommend this restaurant and will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to River Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;