We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hour for Oysters & Cocktails” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Oyster Bar

River Oyster Bar
650 South Miami Avenue, Brickel Village, Miami, FL 33130 (Downtown)
305 530 1915
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
River Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #141 of 3,426 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 7th Street
Transit: 8th Street Metro Mover
Boyds, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Happy Hour for Oysters & Cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Came here on a Thursday after work meetings. It was full by 5:30. Good food, fun environment and very reasonable. Popular with late 20's to 55 plus crowd.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    78
    31
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service. Not to miss.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Food and service was great. We had blue crab gnocci (to die for) and cobia entry. All appetizers were good and there were many more that we would order that looked interesting. Drinks were excellent. Happy hour is offered until 7 p.m., seems like a good pre dinner deal for a couple of drinks/apps. Place gets busy, reservations recommended. Service was excellent which is quite rare these days. River Oyster is for sure a place we would come back to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dinner May 8”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

7 people for dinner who won't be back. Surly waiter, don't care manager, long wait for food, waiter refused to help bone whole fish, ran out of clams! expensive too.
never again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband, 2 year old daughter and I had dinner at this restaurant last Thursday evening. It was loud and busy when we arrived with ther after work crowd. We were seated at a table towards the rear of the restaurant and that worked fine for us. We had an excellent dinner. I had the kale salad for a starter and my husband had the river chopped salad. My salad was great - very fresh, interesting flavours. The waiter brought the bacon which came with the salad in a small plate on the side without my asking which I appreciated. The salad portions were generous without being too much. My main course was the snapper filet - again, just really really good. My husband had the whole (bones and all!) salt baked branzino. He enjoyed every single morsel of that fish. I tasted some of it and I yes indeed - fresh, lightly seasoned, absolutely delish! I enjoyed a reisling with my dinner and my husband had a pinot - both off the menu by the glass and very good. But for the location which is just on the corner of a side street on the outskirts of the hub of downtown Miami and not particularly impressive, this place is definetly a go to spot for a nice dinner in Miami. Our waiter was also spot on - not the warmest/fuzziest of persons but he was very efficient. I recommend this restaurant and will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Trendy and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The River offers a wide variety of appetizers, seafood dishes, oysters and more. Their ceviche and mussels are fantastic. They have a nice wine list and the bar is always a happening place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.