We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ribs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shorty's Bar-B-Q

Shorty's Bar-B-Q
9200 S Dixie Hwy, Miami, FL 33156-2930
305 670 7732
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Shorty's Bar-B-Q is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 3,415 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Barbecue, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

While on assignment in Miami. Shorty's Bar-B-Q was arounf the corner from my hotel. I just had to try it based on the smells coming from there!! Over the course of several visits I tried the Baby Back Ribs, the Pulled Pork , the Brisket and the Fried Green Tomatoes. Now none of it was bad, but my favorites were hands down the Baby Back Ribs and Fried Green Tomatoes. They were some of the best I've ever had. I'm from North Carolina and kind of particular about pulled pork, and Shorty's comes pre-mixed with a sweet tomato based BBQ sauce that was just not to my taste and to me covered up the sweet, smokey porkiness of the meat. The brisket was very good, but was not smokey enough in my opinion. Perhaps it was the piece that I had, but there was no visible pink/red smoke ring in the meat that I would expect to see from a long slow smoking of a brisket. But oh those ribs were really, really good.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    176
    56
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I've never had better!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I love Shortys BBQ!!! I get the pulled pork sandwich with French fries every time I go!!! They have one near my house!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Is there anything better than BBQ ribs?
If you like BBQ meals THIS is the place.

My favourite is the BBQ chicken.
Freshly made and tender....it's heaven.

The dishes are big and the lunch specials comes with French fries and coleslaw.

Don't expect a fancy restaurant. Only great food and excellent price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food, Questionable Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

After seeing overall decent reviews from Trip Advisor, I tried this BBQ spot & I was extremely pleased with the quality & quantity!! Went twice during my 5 day vacation. A must if you love BBQ...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Nice food, ok service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I came here for evening meal.

The place wasn't too busy, and appeared to have a mix in customers of locals and tourists (which I normally take as a good thing).

I was told to find my own table and a server would come along shortly, which she did. I was passed a quite tatty menu, which appeared to have the residue of previous diners meals on it, and selected the Beef Brisket and a beer.

Moments later the beer arrived (in a plastic cup) and moments after that, my meal arrived. The beef was delicious, it was served with fries and BBQ sauce, also in a plastic cup. I was also given a paper bag, for which I assume I was to put any litter in.

Service in Shorty's was fast, no question. But there wasn't a lot of interest or general friendliness about any of the servers I encountered. It felt like a "come in, sit down, eat, get out" kind of place.

Needless to say, once I finished my meal I paid and left pretty quickly.

So overall, the food was lovely and at a good price, service was fast but nothing else.

Not at the top of my list for a return visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shorty's Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Shorty's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shorty's Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.