We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cuban good on the way out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bongos Cuban Cafe

Bongos Cuban Cafe
601 Biscayne Blvd, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)
(786) 777-2100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #704 of 3,615 restaurants in Miami
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Embrace the authenticity of Cuban culture at Bongos Cuban Cafe, where Miami meets Old Havanas tropical ambiance, cuisine, and style. This magnificent restaurant and nightclub was opened in April 2000 and is located right in the heart of Downtown Miami adjacent to the AmericanAirlines Arena. Bongos Cuban Cafe boasts spectacular views of the port of Miami, Biscayne Bay, and the Downtown Miami skyline.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Cuban good on the way out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We had the Empanada de carne, Bistec de Palomilla, and Mariquitas con mojo Cubano. All which was fantastic. This is a gem in the airport. The server was very good, and price for all of that was $30.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    33
    36
    27
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Game night dinner was ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

The staff was appropriately manned for game night but it did take a while to sit down.
I love need empanadas but the ones I had were not good this time.
Dinner was fine but Luke warm.
The mojitos are always good and the staff fast and friendly.
Wish the food was a bit better as I love Cuban food but this did not measure up.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was taking my mother here and wanted her try some real cuban food. It sucked and I always thought cuban food was good. It tasted real bland like they do not put any salt on it. My moms from Louisiana and cajuns eat anything. Not my mother for this resturaunt. She left very disgusted.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid at any cost”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We came here with high hopes for a fun evening but were disappointed on many levels. The noise volume was intense - was this a disco or a restaurant? We couldn't tell. The food was good, not exceptional but the kicker was when we asked for a cab back to our hotel, the service was appalling. We were put off, lied to and smirked at when we were unhappy with a 45 minute wait outside for a cab that never came. For a restaurant of this fame, they should be ashamed. We won't go again, don't recommend it to you or to our Concierge at the Marriott Biscayne Bay.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gave This Place a Third Try, Still Terrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Because Bongos is in the same building as the home of the Miami Heat, our group has stopped there on three different occasions to meet up, have a cocktail, and/or grab a bite to eat before the Heat game. I give it two stars for the decor and convenience but zero stars for service; not just once, or twice, but three times.The worst service occurs at the bar, where the bartenders are clearly not trained in customer service (you will not find a smile or friendly greeting here; in fact, there is big attitude) nor is the staff able to understand the simplest of orders. On all three occasions we have waited up to ten minutes for the first soda or glass of wine to arrive. The food is mediocre at best; truly not representative of what Miami can offer. Because of its location at the American Arena, it's clear that management does not find the need to make an effort, because the pedestrian traffic is a given. Be warned if you go; at least, you'll enjoy the celebrity decor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bongos Cuban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bongos Cuban Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.