We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bongos Cuban Cafe

Bongos Cuban Cafe
601 Biscayne Blvd, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)
(786) 777-2100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #752 of 3,659 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Embrace the authenticity of Cuban culture at Bongos Cuban Cafe, where Miami meets Old Havanas tropical ambiance, cuisine, and style. This magnificent restaurant and nightclub was opened in April 2000 and is located right in the heart of Downtown Miami adjacent to the AmericanAirlines Arena. Bongos Cuban Cafe boasts spectacular views of the port of Miami, Biscayne Bay, and the Downtown Miami skyline.
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Worst lunch ever. Had a steak sandwitch and it was like eating leather. Bartender was very eager to sell us mojitos saying he makes the best there is. While it was nothing special, the price was certainly special at $15 per mojito! And since he adds an automatic gratuity to the bill, makes sense why he's so pushy to sell them. Of course the menu did not have the mojito price listed...

Basically the place reminded me of the sad horrible tourist trap eateries on South Beach.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    40
    28
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homestead, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Gloria & Emilio you need to change the management!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I along with four other friends had reservations for dinner on a Friday in orde to celebrate my buddy's birthday. We were seated in a nice corner of the restaurant in a large roomy table (great). Then it starts!!! After waiting 15 minutes for our server we submit our drink and food order. After 5 minutes only one of the 6 drinks came and the all of our food arrived. The food was off the chain, plain old good food. After another 10 minute wait for 3 more of our original drinks arrive we we able to stop one of the other servers and got some water (we were never provided with any more water for the rest of the night). Now I known that anyone can have a bad night but when our drink order took over 20 minutes to come out at a rate of 2 drinks at a time it can become frustrating. When we complained about the delay we were told that they only had one bartender working for the night. Well let's just say it went from bad to worse. After asking about staying for the nighclub we we told that we had to buy a bottle ($250) which we said ok no problem but then we were told that we had to buy 2 bottles because we we a party of six. Wow talk about customer service. Well let's just say that they need new management. Last time I was there (2 years ago) it was the place to be. Now you are better off some place else. Sory guys just calling it like it is and make sure you check your bill, it had to be corrected twice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really bad information from workers/ bad organization”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I have to say that food was very good! We were really happy with food but The stuff that works there are so lost about information about New Year Eve! Everyone tells you diferent things! It was unelievable!!! Each worker from bartender to manager of The manager of the manager manage completely diferent information! We were so glad we didn't purchase the dinner package they were offering! I will not recomend to buy dinner ahead! Plus we were very disapointed about some very ugly and bad dress CODE people they were allowing inside The club after midnight! We thought they were more selective because IT was New Year Eve! We were so regret we didn't choose to go to party somewhere else nicer and according with The ocassion! The club is very nice with good decoration but they need a real good manager who could organice all the information and have rules about CODE DRESS!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best Cuban food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food quality and taste are amazing! I was there with a few friends and they were very impressed also. I recommend this place very seriously.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service by Hugo”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I was finally able to visit Bongos restaurant after not going in 3 years but was let down by the terrible service. I went on a Thursday October 25 which was not very busy maybe due to the weather. The server was not friendly since the beginning. We received our appetizer after we ate our entree. We had to ask the server "Hugo" three times to bring us water. He brought out on of the entree sides after we were after done with our meal. The quality of the food is not what it use to be especially the plantains stuffed with shrimp and the yuca frita. The shrimp Creole, Moro, and table bread where good. The location and atmosphere are wonderdul but won't be going back due to the service. My the waiters are bad because they get an automatic 15% of the bill.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bongos Cuban Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bongos Cuban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bongos Cuban Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.