We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Cuban cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bongos Cuban Cafe

Bongos Cuban Cafe
601 Biscayne Blvd, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)
(786) 777-2100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #700 of 3,615 restaurants in Miami
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Embrace the authenticity of Cuban culture at Bongos Cuban Cafe, where Miami meets Old Havanas tropical ambiance, cuisine, and style. This magnificent restaurant and nightclub was opened in April 2000 and is located right in the heart of Downtown Miami adjacent to the AmericanAirlines Arena. Bongos Cuban Cafe boasts spectacular views of the port of Miami, Biscayne Bay, and the Downtown Miami skyline.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Super Cuban cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This restaurant in the Delta terminal was great. Nice bar. Good service and wonderful pork,blackbeans and rice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    33
    36
    27
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“regular food, tone deaf entertainment.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

the food just tastes the same as any other place. only problem: the entertainment makes it hard for the waiter to hear you. seriously, I had to yell out my order because the girl singing to the patrons was screaming the song into the mike. I prefer that they get new talent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun dinner venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had a catered buffet dinner at Bongos. Table service was excellent, live music was fun. Buffet featured plantains and yucca, roast pork and ropa vieja (beef), assorted custards and puddings.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This place is a disaster!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

This place is horrible! The service is beyond bad, the food isn't fresh and they use old oil which can be smelled in the food. No dance floor! Save your money and go to the Bongos in Downtown Miami. This place looks like something from South Beach. The whole staff is rude. This place needs to be OVER HAULED!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We needed a quick meal - great thing was we were seated quickly as a group of 3. Larger groups had to wait quite a bit longer.
I ordered the shrimp and garlic sauce - decent size but really salty sauce. The others said the same about the fried rice. The sweet (ripe and fried) plantains were great, the rice and beans average. The fish (someone else's) was quite good, I'm told. I saw portions of beef that were ginormous!
Loved the decor - bongo's making up the bar, and also along the back wall leading to the washrooms. Lively music.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bongos Cuban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bongos Cuban Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.