We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty tree lined streets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Grove

Coconut Grove
Virginia Street, Miami, FL 33133
13054615506
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$39*
and up
Comprehensive City Tour of Miami
Ranked #24 of 214 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Established in the 1800s by a worldly group of pioneers, sailors, artists, naturalists, millionaires, and intellectuals, Coconut Grove is Miami's oldest neighborhood and still maintains its historic charm. The Grove offers visitors an enticing mix of shops, boutiques, and lively outdoor cafes set amid a laid-back village by the bay. Monthly events include Fashion + Art + Music Night every first Saturday and free historic bike tours every second Saturday. Also, weekly free yoga classes held at Peacock Park!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Grand Haven
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very pretty tree lined streets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I thought Coconut Grove was really pretty with tree lined streets and small shops. We walked around at night and had a hard time picking a place to eat since we had so many great choices!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LasolasGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed in South Beach but visited Coconut Grove which was a quick bus ride and fast (two minute) train down. Coconut Grove is really pretty, relaxing and calm, and has a lot of independent, one of a kind shops, that you could browse. There are also some really good restaurants and patios too. I also visited the Coco-walk, it's an outdoor mall with some shops and a movie theatre. It was interesting, but there seemed to be too many empty spaces for lease. Nonetheless, Coconut Grove was a great place to visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice, but many empty spaces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We found the Coco Walk to be very nice with nice boutiques (medium priced). We also walked Main Hyway and Commodore Plaza where you can find interesting boutiques with fashion inspired by the 60s. Unfortunately, there were several empty stores; sign that the neighborhood suffers from fall of grace from toutists

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcoDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

So nice place, where you can enjoy walking around and see some good stores. I was planning to go for Cinema, it seems to good, but I had to leave earlier.
Some good restuarants and coffee shop as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BuSaQR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
140 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I took a tour bus to tour around the Coconut Grove area and I am very pleased with the outcome of the trip. I loved the amount of shopping in one small area and the eatery's along the way. The outdoor shopping feel is something I really enjoy so I took full advantage of this! I would recommend this area if you have time and looking to get out of the craziness of Miami!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Grove also viewed

 

Been to Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing