We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not haute cuisine, still very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Novillo Restaurant

El Novillo Restaurant
6830 Bird Rd, Miami, FL 33155-3708
+1 305-284-8417
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #285 of 3,639 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: Latin, Steakhouse, Central American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: For the last 25 years, our latin American restaurant has specialized in serving authentic Nicaraguan and Central American style cuisine to the area. Our house special and most popular dish, the churrasco which is a tenderloin meat filet, is accompanied with our favorite chimichurri sauce, gallo pinto and sweet plantains. We don't stop there, we also have chicken and seafood available. If you're looking to satisfy your sweet tooth, our tres leches dessert is a crowd favorite. Soaked in three different kinds of milks and topped with marsh mellow like heavy cream, it is sure to put a nice cap to a wonderful meal. We've continued to be a great family place to dine with live music on weekend. If you're looking to host a special event with a small or large group we can accommodate you. We can easily hold 80+ people at our restaurant. Come see us today, we look forward to having you as our guest. Bienvenidos!
Aruba
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not haute cuisine, still very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I went to El Novillo after a long time. The food was good, one of the best pico de gallo (rice with beans), I've ever had: the rice nice and dry, beans moist and tender. The churrasco was good, tenderloin cut along the grain, still tender. The place was full yet the service was fast and friendly. I had had just enough, not too full and the price was reasonable at about $25,00 a person, including drinks (non alcoholic) and tips, but that excludes appetizer and dessert (we're not big eaters). Also worth mentioning is the interior design: as if you are in a patio of a south american hacienda. If I ever open a restaurant, I'll use this theme :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurley, Alabama
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Churrasco Steak at El Novillo in Miami Lakes, FL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I are staying in Miami Lakes for a business trip. My son goes to FIU. So we picked him up and choose EL Novillo to be our restaurant for dinner. The staff was very friendly. We were offered the specials but choose the Wl Novillo Churrasco 12oz Steak. First we had garlic toasted bread with different kinds of dips, which was very tasty. Then we received a small house salad, and not much later (and the restaurant was busy) our steaks arrived at the table which came with a side of sweet fried plantains. An extra server offered gallo pinto (rice and beans) and plantain chips - we were told to say stop if we thought we had enough of the two side items. The steak was delicious, tender and perfectly grilled. The servers were atentative but not in our way. All in all it was a nice family restaurant, and if you are ever in Miami Lakes, make sure to have dinner at El Novillo.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All in a day's work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A huge group (60+) descended, with reservations of course, for a 98th birthday celebration. Smooth, smooth, smooth. The food was hot and tasty, the service appropriate (not too much hovering - none in fact). The Sangria delicious!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guatemala
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Nicaraguan restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The steaks, one of my passions, are amazing and the famous Nica side orders like fried cheese, repochetas, tacos, rice and beans, fried plantains, etc all make for a delicious meal! Service is great and the place inside is like a themes restaurant with facades of Nica style houses.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
“Great juicy steak and Gallo Pinto (staple)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Best Gallo Pinto ever. Churrasco is always Excellent, Fresh, and .juicy . Gotta try their "Tres Leches" Dessert. It's the Best I have ever tried... and I have tried many

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Novillo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Novillo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Novillo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.