We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sambal - CLOSED

Cafe Sambal
500 Brickell Key Dr, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)
(305) 913-8358
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: South East 8th Street
Transit: Metrobus stop located across from restaurant.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I had dinner there for my 40th birthday. It did not disappoint...actually exceeded my expectations. The view looking back at downtown Miami was gorgeous. The food was excellent (I had the Kobe beef, my husband had fish); the staff were friendly and courteous; and the ambience was romantic and serene. The mojitos were the best I've ever had! To top it off, they brought out two beautiful desserts with a candle, the plate inscribed 'happy birthday' in chocolate. Yes, this place is a bit pricey but for a great evening out or special occasion...it is totally worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    39
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I love this place, but need to work on service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I came with a coworker for few drinks and sushi.
We were seated promptly, it took us a good 10 minutes to be greeted by the server.
We took our orders and left, he delivered our drinks and the were sooo good!!!!
5 minutes later he came back again asking on our sushi order. We then got it right away, but did not get our appetizers that we have previously ordered, sushi was delicious, at the end he cleared our table and said: So I think you guys don't need anything else right? OMG...what happened there? No desserts??? No Coffee??? Hum they do have a great view, tables could be allocated on a way that everyone could enjoy it!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent food but watch your bill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My family had an early dinner at Cafe Sambal in the Mandarin Oriental. We started off with small plates and sushi which were all outstanding. Several of us then ordered some entrees which were also well prepared. I had to take my daughter to the airport so my wife and mother-in-law took care of the bill. When I got home that night, there was a question about the bill. We called the restaurant and the following day they sent over a copy. There were 4 items charged on the bill which were not ordered or served. The manager, after checking with the night manager and waiter, credited the charges but I would have expected that the check would have been correct the first time. Although they did the right thing, this put a damper on an otherwise delicious meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fafamiami
2 reviews
“Beautiful view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Beautiful view at this place
The sushi was excellent!!! But the waiter forgot part of our order.
A very casual/chic place!!!!
I recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding menu. Delicious sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Definitely what you would expect from a Mandarin Oriental restaurant. Asian influenced, we had a fantastic meal for 2 at just about $100. Sushi was very creative and fresh, salad with pumpkin seeds and organic greens was a large portion and very good. Tandoori chicken was cooked very well and was complimented well by sautéed spinach and coconut rice. Desserts are top notch. It is very obvious they have a French pastry chef. All of them looked outstanding, we chose the chocolate hazelnut cake. Out of this world. You must sit outside in their patio as the view is gorgeous and romantic. Very nice place for business as well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sambal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.