We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food just average but good to sit amidst old Cuba” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Versailles Restaurant

Versailles Restaurant
3555 SW Eighth St, Miami, FL 33135-4196 (Little Havana)
(305) 444-0240
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 3,619 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Little Havana
Bronx, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food just average but good to sit amidst old Cuba”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We went early in the dinner hour and avoided the wait. Our dinners were just average, two just OK fish dinners, tasty rice & beans, too soft white bread. We were unable to get chopped garlic to add to our very good tostones side dish (after asking several times, a waiter finally brought us a small dish of vinegar with a bay leaf). But go to sit among the interesting people and chatter in a true Cuban environment. Groups of men and women who meet there, perhaps nightly, chatting and laughing. Also, reasonable prices help and the desserts looked really good. We visited the attached bakery after dinner and enjoyed some good pastry that night back at the hotel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    471
    182
    60
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Enjoy the people watching”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The place is obviously an establishment but it's really not the most delicious food or had a great ambiance. It was fun to people watch as there were lots of elderly Cuban gentlemen hanging out with their homies and many tourists from all over the world trying out Cuban food. The cerviche was disappointing but try the Cuban samplers. The mojitos were just ok.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, MI
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cuban Food Recommended by Locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Oh my! We came with a list of dishes recommended by a young lady we know who grew up in Cuba and wanted us to have a taste of Cuba. Not at all disappointed. Clean restaurant with healthy portions of fantastic Cuban foods. I will post pictures of the food... very good. Plus, we sat next to friendly people who told us what we should get the NEXT time we came in. Not heading back any time soon but when I manage to get back to Miami... I am heading to Versailles Restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Cuban food & mojitos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The food is very good, real Cuban taste, and the best Mojito and flan on town.
The atmosphere is casual and the prices are reasonable, there is a section for the restaurant and also a bakery and a Cafe Cubano counter where all the politicians go to take Cafe Cubano and ask for the latin votes during their visits to Miami.
It gets very busy at lunch and dinner but the service is good and fast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ont.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Cuban Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Right in the heart of Little Havana, and only 10 minutes from Miami International Airport.

Excellent Cuban dinner, and great value. You also must save room for dessert.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Versailles Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Versailles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Versailles Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.