We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuban Food and Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Versailles Restaurant

Versailles Restaurant
3555 SW Eighth St, Miami, FL 33135-4196 (Little Havana)
(305) 444-0240
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 3,423 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, Sandwiches, Spanish, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Little Havana
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Cuban Food and Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great cuban food in Miami. This was our first such outing and the food was splendid. Dont go here for extra ordinary ambiance. Go here for cuban food and it is the best cuban food in town. It is packed so parking is a little challenge. The waiters were very helpful with the selection of the food. The place was very busy so dont expect a very quick service however the food arrived in a reasonable time. There is a versailles bakery next doors that sells great tarts and pastry.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    677
    244
    72
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Please... Where is the cuban food?!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We stopped there as part of the little havana tour as recommended by trip advisor... Well what a disappointment! Nothing on the menu was cuban for breakfast: scrambled eggs, muffins, pancakes ... Oh and a cuban sandwich, which we took... Well we ended up with 3 small and averagely cooked pancakes and a ham & cheese panini!! And you get better quality out of Denny's than this place!
On the top of it... Why would you name a cuban restaurant: Versailles?! This is french name! Honestly... Dont stop there. What a waste of money and time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Traditional Cuban Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had an amazing meal! We started with chicken soup (yum!), then ordered a pork dish with two typical sides (rice and plantains). We thoroughly enjoyed our food. We intentionally went to several Cuban restaurants in Miami and surrounding areas and we felt that Versailles had pretty typical Cuban food and since we love Cuban food, it was delicious! It is a very large restaurant and for lunchtime, it was incredibly busy. We were obviously tourists but for the most part, it seemed like most of the folks eating were locals who just stopped by for some lunch! We felt like we made a great choice if this is where the locals come to eat! Would definitely return if we're in Miami again (even though it is a drive from Miami Beach).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Miami classic Cuban, fine for a local experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A Miami classic. Versailles is situated on SW 8 Street as Little Havana blends westward into Coral Gables. French name, reliable basic Cuban food. The building is very attractive, very traditional. No dish stands out as especially remarkable but some friends from out of town *loved* the pitcher of Sangria with dinner.

On this breakfast visit I had eggs fried well with bacon. I asked for the menu option of "potatoes." The waitress asked if I meant "hash browns," which I gladly accepted, envisioning them as fresh-cut. I received the deep-fried potato chunk, indistinguishable from McDonald's only by its triangular shape. Not impressed on this.

Breakfast is very modestly priced ($), with lunches and dinners also reasonable ($$). You can also stop by the bakery for café Cubano and any of various tasty pastelitos. I did enjoy one with cheese as I left the center-building's smaller bakery with window service. They also have a larger bakery at the east end, with cakes and more elaborate options.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great time at Versailles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a great lunch at Versailles during our trip to Miami this month. The restaurant was packed but we were able to be seated within 20 minutes. The servers were quick and food arrived in an appropriate amount of time considering how busy they were. I had the sampler plate and couldn't have been happier! Great food, good price. My friend ordered the Cuban Sandwich and loved it. Again the price was very reasonable. After lunch we picked up some pastry to go. They have a nice selection and again the price was very reasonable. Don't miss this place if you are heading to Calle Ocho!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Versailles Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Versailles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Versailles Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.