We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please... Where is the cuban food?!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Versailles Restaurant

Versailles Restaurant
3555 SW Eighth St, Miami, FL 33135-4196 (Little Havana)
(305) 444-0240
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 3,611 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Little Havana
Southampton
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Please... Where is the cuban food?!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We stopped there as part of the little havana tour as recommended by trip advisor... Well what a disappointment! Nothing on the menu was cuban for breakfast: scrambled eggs, muffins, pancakes ... Oh and a cuban sandwich, which we took... Well we ended up with 3 small and averagely cooked pancakes and a ham & cheese panini!! And you get better quality out of Denny's than this place!
On the top of it... Why would you name a cuban restaurant: Versailles?! This is french name! Honestly... Dont stop there. What a waste of money and time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    465
    180
    59
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Traditional Cuban Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had an amazing meal! We started with chicken soup (yum!), then ordered a pork dish with two typical sides (rice and plantains). We thoroughly enjoyed our food. We intentionally went to several Cuban restaurants in Miami and surrounding areas and we felt that Versailles had pretty typical Cuban food and since we love Cuban food, it was delicious! It is a very large restaurant and for lunchtime, it was incredibly busy. We were obviously tourists but for the most part, it seemed like most of the folks eating were locals who just stopped by for some lunch! We felt like we made a great choice if this is where the locals come to eat! Would definitely return if we're in Miami again (even though it is a drive from Miami Beach).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Miami classic Cuban, fine for a local experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A Miami classic. Versailles is situated on SW 8 Street as Little Havana blends westward into Coral Gables. French name, reliable basic Cuban food. The building is very attractive, very traditional. No dish stands out as especially remarkable but some friends from out of town *loved* the pitcher of Sangria with dinner.

On this breakfast visit I had eggs fried well with bacon. I asked for the menu option of "potatoes." The waitress asked if I meant "hash browns," which I gladly accepted, envisioning them as fresh-cut. I received the deep-fried potato chunk, indistinguishable from McDonald's only by its triangular shape. Not impressed on this.

Breakfast is very modestly priced ($), with lunches and dinners also reasonable ($$). You can also stop by the bakery for café Cubano and any of various tasty pastelitos. I did enjoy one with cheese as I left the center-building's smaller bakery with window service. They also have a larger bakery at the east end, with cakes and more elaborate options.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wenatchee, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great time at Versailles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a great lunch at Versailles during our trip to Miami this month. The restaurant was packed but we were able to be seated within 20 minutes. The servers were quick and food arrived in an appropriate amount of time considering how busy they were. I had the sampler plate and couldn't have been happier! Great food, good price. My friend ordered the Cuban Sandwich and loved it. Again the price was very reasonable. After lunch we picked up some pastry to go. They have a nice selection and again the price was very reasonable. Don't miss this place if you are heading to Calle Ocho!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

What's all the fuss about? The vaca frita was dry and zipless but the plantains were tasty. The sangria was bland--all ice and no fruit. I regret opting for a place recommended by the travel guides. I wish we had been more adventurous and gotten off the beaten path.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Versailles Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Versailles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Versailles Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.