We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Cuban Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Versailles Restaurant

Versailles Restaurant
3555 SW Eighth St, Miami, FL 33135-4196 (Little Havana)
(305) 444-0240
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 3,415 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Little Havana
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Traditional Cuban Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had an amazing meal! We started with chicken soup (yum!), then ordered a pork dish with two typical sides (rice and plantains). We thoroughly enjoyed our food. We intentionally went to several Cuban restaurants in Miami and surrounding areas and we felt that Versailles had pretty typical Cuban food and since we love Cuban food, it was delicious! It is a very large restaurant and for lunchtime, it was incredibly busy. We were obviously tourists but for the most part, it seemed like most of the folks eating were locals who just stopped by for some lunch! We felt like we made a great choice if this is where the locals come to eat! Would definitely return if we're in Miami again (even though it is a drive from Miami Beach).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    656
    239
    72
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Miami classic Cuban, fine for a local experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A Miami classic. Versailles is situated on SW 8 Street as Little Havana blends westward into Coral Gables. French name, reliable basic Cuban food. The building is very attractive, very traditional. No dish stands out as especially remarkable but some friends from out of town *loved* the pitcher of Sangria with dinner.

On this breakfast visit I had eggs fried well with bacon. I asked for the menu option of "potatoes." The waitress asked if I meant "hash browns," which I gladly accepted, envisioning them as fresh-cut. I received the deep-fried potato chunk, indistinguishable from McDonald's only by its triangular shape. Not impressed on this.

Breakfast is very modestly priced ($), with lunches and dinners also reasonable ($$). You can also stop by the bakery for café Cubano and any of various tasty pastelitos. I did enjoy one with cheese as I left the center-building's smaller bakery with window service. They also have a larger bakery at the east end, with cakes and more elaborate options.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great time at Versailles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a great lunch at Versailles during our trip to Miami this month. The restaurant was packed but we were able to be seated within 20 minutes. The servers were quick and food arrived in an appropriate amount of time considering how busy they were. I had the sampler plate and couldn't have been happier! Great food, good price. My friend ordered the Cuban Sandwich and loved it. Again the price was very reasonable. After lunch we picked up some pastry to go. They have a nice selection and again the price was very reasonable. Don't miss this place if you are heading to Calle Ocho!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

What's all the fuss about? The vaca frita was dry and zipless but the plantains were tasty. The sangria was bland--all ice and no fruit. I regret opting for a place recommended by the travel guides. I wish we had been more adventurous and gotten off the beaten path.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Took my great nephew here as he wanted to go to the "famous" Miami Cuban restaurant, he really enjoyed it. Food was as expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Versailles Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Versailles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Versailles Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.