We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miami classic Cuban, fine for a local experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Versailles Restaurant

Versailles Restaurant
3555 SW Eighth St, Miami, FL 33135-4196 (Little Havana)
(305) 444-0240
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 3,650 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Little Havana
south Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Miami classic Cuban, fine for a local experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A Miami classic. Versailles is situated on SW 8 Street as Little Havana blends westward into Coral Gables. French name, reliable basic Cuban food. The building is very attractive, very traditional. No dish stands out as especially remarkable but some friends from out of town *loved* the pitcher of Sangria with dinner.

On this breakfast visit I had eggs fried well with bacon. I asked for the menu option of "potatoes." The waitress asked if I meant "hash browns," which I gladly accepted, envisioning them as fresh-cut. I received the deep-fried potato chunk, indistinguishable from McDonald's only by its triangular shape. Not impressed on this.

Breakfast is very modestly priced ($), with lunches and dinners also reasonable ($$). You can also stop by the bakery for café Cubano and any of various tasty pastelitos. I did enjoy one with cheese as I left the center-building's smaller bakery with window service. They also have a larger bakery at the east end, with cakes and more elaborate options.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    520
    195
    63
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Wenatchee, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great time at Versailles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a great lunch at Versailles during our trip to Miami this month. The restaurant was packed but we were able to be seated within 20 minutes. The servers were quick and food arrived in an appropriate amount of time considering how busy they were. I had the sampler plate and couldn't have been happier! Great food, good price. My friend ordered the Cuban Sandwich and loved it. Again the price was very reasonable. After lunch we picked up some pastry to go. They have a nice selection and again the price was very reasonable. Don't miss this place if you are heading to Calle Ocho!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

What's all the fuss about? The vaca frita was dry and zipless but the plantains were tasty. The sangria was bland--all ice and no fruit. I regret opting for a place recommended by the travel guides. I wish we had been more adventurous and gotten off the beaten path.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Took my great nephew here as he wanted to go to the "famous" Miami Cuban restaurant, he really enjoyed it. Food was as expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Not What It Used to Be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was once a great place to eat up until about 1980. Has lost it's quality over the years. Only reason it stays this busy is it's location and tradition. There are better places in Miami for real Cuban food. Cuban coffee is still good !

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Versailles Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Versailles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Versailles Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.