We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy drinks and a candy shop at your disposal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dylan's Candy Bar

Dylan's Candy Bar
801 Lincoln Road, Miami, FL 33139
305-531-1988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 31 Shopping in Miami
Type: Specialty Shops
Attraction Details
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy drinks and a candy shop at your disposal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The restaurant had delicious candy drinks and during happy hour the prices are very reasonable. They also have a huge candy selection so you have something sweet to munch on while drinking.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    0
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“My 11 year old son loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

He was able to spend a good 15 minutes and came out with a decent sized bag for $17. Took some pictures of him with these huge gummy bears. The best deal was 3 chocolate bars for $10. There was some vintage candy that was fun to look at. Considering that Lincoln Ave is more adult oriented this is a good stop if you have kids.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dylan's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Dylan's Candy Bar has some outside tables on Lincoln Road, so we thought we'd give it a try. First of all, this was the worst service we've ever received on Lincoln. Food was very mediocre and very overpriced. There are many places on Lincoln Road with much better food and service!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
222 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
785 helpful votes 785 helpful votes
“Candy Man Can”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Younger generations don’t remember the 1972 hit song by Sammy Davis Jr., “The Candy Man.” Walking along Lincoln Road (a pedestrian mall between 16th and 17th streets), I spied colorful Dylan’s Candy Bar. The titular Dylan is Ralph Lauren’s daughter, famous in her own right. Approaching an age at which diabetes risks increase, I resisted temptation, but the eye candy is a delight and reminded me of the days I ogled tons of sugar and thought mortality was an entitlement. The eye candy is the only reasonably priced item. Items for sale are exorbitantly priced, and I can’t even pay attention. Enjoy the excessive air conditioning on hot evenings, and the free color explosion that rivals Chihuly glass art and flowers in Wizard of Oz Munchkinland.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap Priced Candy Store in SoBe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Not at all what we expected when we purchased a voucher through Gilt City for a Sugar Rush Ticket which consisted of two scoops of ice cream of our choice along with half a pound of toppings for $9. When we went yesterday, we went up to the host at the front and showed our Gilt City voucher. He was pretty clueless on this offer. He asked us to sit down and someone would be right with us. So we sat and waited for about ten minutes before the guy HE WAS SPEAKING WITH came to our table. Finally, our waiter comes and we show him the voucher and he was also pretty clueless. So he tells us to select two flavors of ice cream which we do. We are then given a cup to put our toppings in. We had no idea we would only be able to choose candy, no other sort of toppings for our ice cream. I've never put candy in my ice cream. It just doesn't make a good combination. We were expecting perhaps hot fudge, cherries, bananas, sprinkles, but no. All that was at an extra charge. So our waiter then comes out with our ice cream in a cup the same size as the cup given to us to choose our candy toppings. I said, "Sir, how can we pour these toppings over the ice cream?" He had no idea what to say. So I asked if they had a bowl to give us. He went to the back and brought us one. Why didn't he bring this in the first place? What was he expecting us to do? Eat the candy and ice cream separately?
So we finish our ice cream and there was no way we could eat all the toppings since it was too much chocolate. I asked our waiter for a a top to cover the cup for the chocolate. They didn't even had lids and they had to give me a lid they used for soda drinks.
Not only was our Gilt City voucher not worth the $9 because the scoops of ice cream were very small, this place is VERY EXPENSIVE and a TOURIST TRAP. It's in the heart of Lincoln Road where the Ghiradelli's was at. Candy is $13.99 a pound which is ridiculous and unheard of. Since it's located in the beach and Lincoln Road has a huge mark up on rent, that is the price you need to pay.
Please bring back Ghiradelli's. They have way better chocolate and their hot chocolate was amazing.
This place sucks and will not last long.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dylan's Candy Bar also viewed

 

Been to Dylan's Candy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dylan's Candy Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.